Openmic week 69 original song "Just Another Country Song"

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

I wrote this when I was much younger, in some ways, I now am that man I imagined back then...just can't play a jukebox for a quarter. But I can play opemic for free, and you can listen for free...win win!

Just Another Country Song

In a tavern in the hills of Colorado,
Where I stopped along the way to quench my thirst.
I met a man had with him a guitar,
And tales of all the women he had hurt.
(Chorus)
He said it's just another country song...
You don't have to listen very long,
Coming from the heart, trying to make a start,
To get along...just a country song,
He sang about an old abandoned love affair,
I felt the tears gather in my eyes
I asked him if he'd sing that song just one more time,
It seemed as though his face just came alive....
He walked down to the jukebox, slid a quarter in,
His voice came on with all the colored lights....
The sound of fiddle, steel guitar, and mandolin,
A sad refrain, you know it sounded right!
(Chorus)
The lights went out, the old man sitting at the bar,
The record and the man now marked with age,
The embers of a star will burn though never born,
Quarter memories burban backed can't hide the pain.
(Chorus)

Sort:  

You are awesome, you still got it in you. Age doesn't mean when it come to talent. You still have the voice and your chords are perfect.

Wow! You had a great voice, talent came from the Lord...

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Thanks for the opportunity, I am enjoying figuring out how to have a more quality post.

excelente saludos

good talent

thank you!

I enjoy every bit of this. Awesome!

thank you!

This is such a great song, Patrick! :)

nice song. You remind me a lot of the former rector of the Baptist Theological Seminary of Venezuela in which I studied: Dr. Alirio Eustache :-) Beautiful comparison; I respect and admire him and you too

Thank you. We did DNA studies and I found out I was between 25 and 50% Mayan and Puenche, so I have many matches in South and Central America. We are still searching to figure this out!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65124.62
ETH 3554.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46