Openmic week 67 original song Old Socks

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

I post this song as I think about so many people that sang Auld Lang Syne last week, I thought of this folk song I wrote back in the 70s. It occured to me that we keep old socks around, but they are no longer useful to us; they served me well, but now they've seen their day, amd often, that is how we treat the people in our lives. Here are the lyrics:

OLD SOCKS

I've worn them not too long, that's all I'll say,
And now I've go to place them in grandmas' old buffet.
But they sweved me well and now they've seen their day.

these darn old socks , they never last too long,
I always have put them in moth balls.
They served me well and now they've seen their day.
Chorus:
Served me well, oh so well.
Served me well, oh so well.
They served me well and now they've seen their day.

They come in colors of every hue,
And I have got some partiality toward a few.
They served me well, and now they've seen their day.

I wish that i could fix them, so well they all have done,
But socks with rips and holes hardly protect the feet of one.
They seved me well and now they've seen their day,
Chorus:

I fixed a few, I tried to fix the rest,
But some have passed beyond, they met their final test.
They served me well, and now they've seen their day.

I shed no big fat tears, it was duties call.
Cuz socks were made for feet, and when there's holes that's all,
They served me well and now they've seen their day.
Chorus:
The question I propose is simple it's true.
Isn't what I've done with socks done with people too?
They served me well, and now they've seen their day.
Chorus:

So the question, "should old acquaintance be forgot, and never brought to mind?" must be answered with a resounding, "no".

Sort:  

Nothing better then originals 👍
Keep rocking my friend 🎸

Would love to jam with you sometime. Yuu have so many songs.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Thanks, What do you play? Songs don't come as fast as they used to, but still do come.

hope you will win the contest.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64294.06
ETH 3427.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59