Steemit Open Mic Week 144 - Irish Folk Ballad - Shanagolden

in #openmic5 years ago (edited)
Sort:  

Great job! Love the Irish ballads and I can hear the Irish lilting in your voice.

Thanks, I appreciate the encouragement.... and I'm glad you liked the tune 🙂

I can hear the Irish lilting in your voice.

People have said I sound Irish before now, but I'm from Liverpool. There is a huge Irish influence in Liverpool though. People in Dublin say Liverpool is the second capital of Ireland. Also, I'm half Irish on my dad's side but never knew him or spent much time in Ireland. It's somewhere I really want to visit properly some day.

I’m half Irish also. My mother was a war bride from Co. Mayo, Eire. She never lost her Irish accent from all the years living in Canada.

My mother was a war bride from Co. Mayo, Eire. She never lost her Irish accent from all the years living in Canada.

That's cool, Co. Mayo looks nice.

I love Irish music so much and am a real nature lover so Ireland is somewhere I need to get to one day, especially the wild western coast. My dad's family come from Cork and they have an Irish music festival there each year which I should make the effort to get to and reconnect with my roots 🙂

I had visited the Wild West Mayo about 9 yrs. ago. Wonderful place. Still have some cousins there in Belmullet and Bangor Erris.

Not so shaky! Good job man and a fine song!

Cheers m8. It felt reasonably easy to perform as it's got a place close to my heart. The lyrics are ingrained from when I used to play it in pubs years ago, so I didn't have to really look at the screen much despite having not played it in ages :)

It's handy when the lyrics are ingrained in, it can totally throw you when you have to read and play!

it can totally throw you when you have to read and play!

For sure.

I find it really difficult to sing and play at the same time as well. That's why I was paranoid about my voice breaking out of key lol. It's been known to go flying all over the place like a teenager when their voice is breaking. Funny for anyone watching 🤣 crazy thing is, I can hold a tune pretty well when I'm not playing guitar, it gets even worse when I try to pick. That's why I stuck with chords in this one.

Open mic should be a good motivator to start practicing properly again. Be loads of Irish stuff like this in the begining as it's what cones natural for me.

Thanks for the encouragement meesterboom 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

No worries mate!

I find it hard to sing full stop so trying to sing awfully and play guitar is almost beyond me!

It's a very mellow song and calming @raj808 you performed well.

Thanks cryptopie. I'm glad you enjoyed the Irish Ballad :) I was unsure about my singing, but when I listened back to it, I thought it wasn't too bad. I really enjoyed playing this song so I think I'll enter more open mic competitions in the future :)

It sounds so sad but I like it. You really did good on this song. I don't know any Irish songs and the only Irish musician I know is Dolores from the Cranberries.

Yeah, man... it is a very sad song. A lot of older Irish songs like this are really sad and about tragic events.

the only Irish musician I know is Dolores from the Cranberries.

I love the Cranberries and 'Zombie' particularly. But that has that sad Irish vibe to it, with a little anger over the subject they're tackling.

Cheers for checking out my open mic entry watersnake101 :)

Beautiful selection, way to go @raj808. 💪

Posted using Partiko Android

Cheers m8ty :)

You have a very nice voice! I listened with great pleasure))

Thank you @amalinavia

I'm glad you enjoyed the song and that my singing voice turned out decent in the end ;-)

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi @raj808!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.625 which ranks you at #1684 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 6 places in the last three days (old rank 1690).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 195 contributions, your post is ranked at #16.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63064.93
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55