Steemit Open Mic Week 78 - "Nepoznám Ťa" ( The First Steemit OM Slovak song?) orginal by @petrajordan

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

FIRST EVER SLOVAK OPEN MIC ENTRY?

I dare to say that this is the first ever Slovak song entered into Steemit Open Mic and I'm pretty sure I'm right :) Correct me if I'm not though!

As I described in my video, originally, I'm from Slovakia but I don't really write in Slovak because the international audience I play for in the Netherlands and wherever else I play won't understand it. And I know how it feels for me when I listen to music in a language which I don't understand - one song is fine and then they lose me :)

WHERE THE HELL IS SLOVAKIA?

Now, I know that I have already mentioned my hometown when I entered OM with "City At Night" but usually this is how the conversation goes:

Foreigner: Where are you from?
Me: Slovakia
Foreigner: "Ah Slovenia... Yugoslavia, right"
Me: Noooooo.... Yugoslavia doesn't exist anymore... We're a part of former Cechoslovakia!
Foreigner: Ahh... that's like Russia, right?
Me: Sigh...

Ok ok, not everyone is so bad but it happens often :) And sometimes people even know my town, Košice!

kosicestag-850x550.jpg

WHAT’S THE SONG ABOUT?

I wrote it after I came home from a Dutch class (weirdly) and it talks about the voice of my native language that I never really used to write songs... and I wonder why it’s coming out now and where from...

Anyway, enough of talking, go listen to the song and here's the translation :)

Thanks for listening!

Petra

And as always, a big Thank You to the OM Judges - @luzcypher @pfunk @soundlegion, @verbal-d, @passion-ground, @krystle and @meno for their support <3 <3 <3


Follow PETRA JORDAN on all platforms


Soulful pop with jazzy harmonies and philosophy in between the lines

Official Website: www.petrajordanmusic.com

Sort:  

I really enjoyed your angelic voice this week @petrajordan, this is a ballad of Slovakian royalty haha

I have added you to my Judge's Top list of Week 78
Please click here to read the full review

https://steemit.com/openmic/@verbal-d/steemit-s-official-open-mic-judge-verbal-d-s-top-5-entries-for-week-78-original-blog

:) Thanks so much, @verbal-d! Off to check out your review! Xx

You're welcome :) don't mind me replying even though we talked already, just answering replies

Thanks for letting us breath some slovakian air :)

My pleasure! Glad you like to take it in :)

Wow, PJ, what a truly beautiful composition and performance! I Love it!

Thank you, PG! Sounds like the language barrier wasn’t an issue ;)

Not in the least, PJ... In fact, it added that much more flavor to the composition as a whole.

Thanks, @operahoser! Glad you did! :)

That was beautiful thank you for helping us expand our European presence, really helpful with the map and translation. ;9)
@petrajordan

Beautiful piano melodies and a bit of education at the same time, what's not to love. Good luck!

Thank you, @gjart <3 Glad I could edumucate you a bit :))

That's lovely to hear you in Slovakian!
dobrá práca!!!

@martinkukucka, @variola - keby ze sa vam chcelo pocuvat tak nech sa paci ;) A mozte dalej sirit... Zdravim!!!

That was beautiful. You are very talented. I had chills during the whole performance!

Wow, thank you, @futuremind :) These kind of chills are good!

Yes! good chills! I loved it. Thank you for sharing this with us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71191.31
ETH 3811.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48