Steemit Open Mic Week 75 - "City At Night" (original) by @petrajordan

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

My FIRST ORIGINAL OPEN MIC ENTRY! Yey ;)

I wrote this song in and about my hometown, Košice, Slovakia, when I was in college and reading Jack Kerouac's "On The Road"... There's actually a line from his book in the song - see if you can identify it ;)

(pssst, don't tell anyone, but the song actually placed in top 10% out of 5000 entries in an international songwriting competition...)

So sit back, sip your wine, your whiskey... dream and let the music transport you into your favorite

CITY AT NIGHT

Stuck in an empty street at night
Carried away by the lights
In the city at night
City at night

With no problem for a while
I look for the crowds to get lost in
Thoughts move in my head
I'm movin' ahead
To where I wanna be now

I found life for now and then
So real it makes me cry
I am loaded with a need
To get more of this unfailing love

I feel free and I'm freezing
I'm diligently lazy
I sing for the stars
Slightly mad and frenzied

And somebody knows
That I'm fragile and strong
Oh, intangible time
In the city at night
And I'm wasting my time

And I saw many strangers
With a myth walking at their side
On the road, running from one star
To another until they drop

And the moon it knows
Though it looks surprised
It's witnessed love making
It's been a witness to the crime
And knee to knee
I talked to you in my mind
As I was lost
In the city at night

Music & Lyrics: Petra Jordan
2018 (c) Petra Jordan

BIG THANKS to @luzcypher @pfunk @soundlegion, @verbal-d, @passion-ground @krystle and @meno <3 <3 <3

LINKS

Official Website: http://www.petrajordanmusic.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/PetraJordanMusic/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/petrajordan1
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/petrajordan/
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/petrajordanmusic
Steemit: https://steemit.com/@petrajordan
DSound: https://dsound.audio/@petrajordan#!/@petrajordan
Musicoin: https://musicoin.org/nav/artist/0x61c79bce14a7b3abc65aadaef27512b0226eb18b

THANK YOU FOR LISTENING!

Sort:  

Love your piano skills and voice. Soulful and expressive.

Many thanks! I do my best...

You are an awesome song writer and performer. Admirable. Tidy video too. Don't you deserve a 10/10? ;-)

Thank you so much, misterakpan! 🙏

I'm having a martini as I listen to this. Shaken, not stirred. Just goes so well with your performance. Fantastic!

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Best comment ever ;) One day, I’ll join you for that Martini somewhere on a Steemfest, playing City at night with a Steem band... let’s visualize that and make it happen ;)

Wow, thank you! Me, too, when having received such a compliment ❤️

Nice!!!! Some beautiful chord changes there too!!!

Thank you, Mel :) I’m defiitely pretty proud of this song... especially given that back when I wrote it, I had no idea about music theory... cause I had skipped most of my classes in the music school and never finished it. The song actually shaped up over time with the help of some good jazz teachers I met.

That's pretty cool. I spent a lot of time listening to horn players, but I do like McCoy Tyner, Thelonius Monk, and Rachel Z. Oh, and electric Chick Corea stuff too.

My college paper was called “Jazz - A Journey To Recognition”. I studied British and American studies and managed to choose a topic that was related to music. While I was researching the paper, I learned about all the great American jazz players... and, finally, after all those skipped theory lessons, also the jazz chords :)))

Interesting you mention Chick Corea, I actually took private lessons from a piano teacher who had studied with him ;) Love Chick!

claps claps!! talent! singing beautifully, and I also love how you play the piano.

Clap clap clap right back at ya :) Thank you, @hedac! Really appreciate your comment xxx

The piano, the vocal and lyric are all awesome... This should be a jazz standard. I am checking you out right away on soundcloud.

Wow, thank you, @papaudeme! I actually wanna record this song (again after 12yrs) with a band this year and officially release it. Just looking for a producer...

👍👍👍🎹🎹🎹

Wow, I really love this song, the jazzy chords at the piano, and your great voice really makes me see what you felt when you wrote this song
Keep on shining!

I love what you did with the piano!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60607.86
ETH 2620.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52