Steemit Open Mic Week #77 - Pensamiento de Caracol (Gustavo Pena) Cover song.

in #openmic6 years ago

Hello Steemit!

Last week I missed the Open Mic contest :( ... I'm in the middle of moving so half my studio is over at the new place and I haven't been able to get some time to record a song but I snuck a tune in for this week , this is going to be my last Open Mic in this location, new place starting tomorrow ! :D .

For this week I chose to cover one of my favorite songs called "Pensamiento de Caracol'' that translates to ''Snail's thoughts'' , the melody and lyrics of this song I find it to be pure genius. It is a children's song but at the same time it has a deep critique on the ''adult world'' and society, It's really great . It's part of the Uruguayan classic music catalog now.

It proved to be a little difficult to perform, the chords moving versus the melody were a nice little challenge! anyways.. I hope you like it!

Pensamiento de Caracol
(Gustavo Pena - El Príncipe)

De madrugada, de madrugada
Con el rocío brillando al sol
Amanecí en la carretera
Con pensamiento de caracol

Me acompañaba por esta tierra
Mi humilde casa de cascaron
Siempre en la hoja, mas no me importa
Porque en mi hoja estoy libre

De los problemas de aquellos bichos
Que se disputan con gran pasión
Unos papeles que yo no entiendo
Por eso viven sufriendo

De madrugada, de madrugada
Con el rocío brillando al sol
Amanecí en la carretera
Con pensamiento de caracol

Muy despacito me voy moviendo
Pero sé bien en que dirección
Mi caracola me esta esperando
Caracolito jugando

Yo no me asusto de la tormenta
Tampoco el frío es preocupación
Vivo la vida naturalmente
Y siempre tengo presente

Caracolito, dijo mi vieja
Tené cuidado allá en la estación
Hay unos bichos para los cuales
La construcción y la destrucción
Son iguales

De madrugada, de madrugada
Con el rocío brillando al sol
Amanecí en la carretera
Con pensamiento de caracol

Here's a translation

Snail's Thoughts
(Gustavo Pena)

In the early morning, the early morning
with the mist lighting the sun
I woke up in the road
with snail's thoughts

My companion in this earth
is this humble home made of shell
Always in the leaf but I don't care
Because in my leaf I am free

Of the problems of those critters
that fight with lot of passion
over some papers I don't understand
for those papers they life in suffering

In the early morning, the early morning
with the mist lighting the sun
I woke up in the road
with snail's thoughts

Very slowly I am moving
but I know in which direction
My lady snail is waiting
Little snail is playing

I don't get scared of storm
Cold is also not a worry
I live my life naturally
and I always have this present

''Little snail'' - said my mom
''be careful over there at the station
there are some critters for whom
construction and destruction
are the same thing''.

In the early morning, the early morning
with the mist lighting the sun
I woke up in the road
with snail's thoughts

Thank you very much for reading and listening! As always big props to @luzcypher and @pfunk for setting this space for us! and of course @krystle , @passion-ground , @meno, @soundlegion and @verbal-d for their amazing work as judges!

Sort:  

Your performances are getting better every week. I love it and your voice is so good.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Thank you very much @luzcypher ! I'm glad to hear I'm upping up my game ! I must give credit to the weekly Open Mic performance ! keeps me practicing!

Firstly, Pechi, I love your voice. I know I've said it before, but you have a silky smooth tone and delivery, but also in this you are showing great control of dynamics and range at low volume, which is a more difficult thing to accomplish than many people realise.
Secondly, I love the pivot modulaton of the chord progression that sits unerneath the vocals. The tone of the guitar is perfect.
Thirdly, you're right! These lyrics contain such profound observational profundity.
Love your work, mate!
🙏🏽😎🎶

Ohh @nathankaye bro thank you so much for your comment ! coming from you means a lot! I'm slowly getting used to the dynamics between my guitar and voice , since my voice is in constant ''low volume'' when singing I always end up drowning it with the guitar :p (hence the double mic setup I usually prefer) I'm glad I'm starting to ''level both'' naturally , it's quite challenging !

The chord progression is quite cool in this song , I didn't change any chord at all (which I usually do because... I'm a nerd) but this time I kept to the original , didn't want to touch it at all!

And yes ! I love the lyrics for this one , Gustavo Pena was sure a lyrical genius, he was a philosopher at heart.

Thank you very much for your comments mate ! Cheers!

hola, querido @pechichemena! es una lindura de tema y te queda preciso. Te abrazo.

es un gran tema mi querido @wilins , gracias por el comentario! Abrazo ! ... ( Hallacas...)

pechii ayer me quede dormida escuchandote tocar esta cancion y pense muchas cosas lindas , sos l o m a s

:D !!! Gracias monchita! Es un tema muy lindo y que bueno que cantado por mi no te trajo pesadillas! jajaja

Man you have such a great voice, and this sounds beautiful.

thank you so much @danieldyemusic ! btw , great show yesterday , really enjoyed your music and stories !

Love this cover, Pechiche! Nice, brother!

Thank you very much @passion-ground! I'm glad I could sneak in a song this week! Cheers!

Que buena vibra hombre.
Acostumbrado a tu buena voz y ejecución de la guitarra.
Te felicito.

Muchas gracias por el lindo comentario @leomolina ! que bueno que te haya gustado ! un gran abrazo!

muchas gracias :)!!!

Diría que en calza justo contigo :) Buenísima interpretación del apodado ¨El principe¨...

Muchas gracias @edwardstobia ! Te recomiendo escuchar mas de sus canciones , hay muchas perlas rondando por ahi :) ! Un abrazo !

Seguro hermano =)

Quiero que me toques esta canción cuantas veces puedas siempre que nos veamos. Te quiero amigo caracoooolllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll mucho, estoy efusiva

Te sale a 1 chipá por toma , pueden ser caseros ;) . Gracias carlukita!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94