Steemit Open Mic Week # 73 - I want you back (Jackson 5) Cover song.

in #openmic6 years ago

Hello Steemit!


One more week , one more song ! Today is a little different for me since it's the first time a submit a song singing by myself in english. As you may know, I'm from Ecuador and a native spanish speaker so singing in english gets my tongue twisted a little ! but i decided to give it a go anyways ( and messed the lyrics a little among the way! haha )

"I want you back" has been one of my all-time favorite songs since I was a kid, maybe I heard my mom play it in the house, not sure. As I arranged it for acoustic guitar it prove to be quite challenging , there are a lot of chords moving around! Crazy to think this quite advanced harmony was in pop songs back in those days!

Anyways, I hope you like it!

"I Want You Back"

When I had you to myself, I didn't want you around
Those pretty faces always made you stand out in a crowd
But someone picked you from the bunch, one glance was all it took
Now it's much too late for me to take a second look

Oh baby, give me one more chance
(To show you that I love you)
Won't you please let me back in your heart
Oh darlin', I was blind to let you go
(Let you go, baby)
But now since I see you in his arms
(I want you back)
Yes I do now
(I want you back)
Ooh ooh baby
(I want you back)
Yeah yeah yeah yeah
(I want you back)
Na na na na

Trying to live without your love is one long sleepless night
Let me show you, girl, that I know wrong from right
Every street you walk on, I leave tear stains on the ground
Following the girl I didn't even want around

Oh baby, all I need is one more chance
(To show you that I love you)
Won't you please let me back in your heart
Oh darlin', I was blind to let you go
(Let you go, baby)
But now since I see you in his arms
(I want you back)
Yes I do now
(I want you back)
Ooh ooh baby
(I want you back)
Yeah yeah yeah yeah
(I want you back)
Na na na na

As always a big thanks to @luzcypher and @pfunk for setting this contest up!

Thanks for listening!

pechi new.png

banner by @hoschitrooper

Sort:  

Excelente amigo! mucho pero mucho acorde!!

Muchas gracias Chris ! :)

What a cool version of this song man!

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Thank you very much @luzcypher! I'm glad you liked it!

Amigo, buenísimo el set ♥
Valió la pena y el esfuerzo suena hermoso y te ves bien chido!!! jajaj :)

jajajaj gracias carluki!! :D

That was great! Amazing chord work bro ;9)

Thank you very much @gibber :)!!

soooooo good! haha! I love this song. I had to silly dance to it once as part of an audition and I ended up as part of a brit awards advert! So it always reminds me of that......kind of a weird memory, but SUCH a great song! great job dude x

hahahaha @basilmarples , nice story ! and thank you ! Yes , this is one of my all time favorites.. when Pop music was cool!... there I said it... hides behind the door... XD.

Nice rendition, Pechiche! Your English is flawless, brother!

Thank you very much brother! I am trying my best :p . Hopefully i'll start including songs in english in my repertoire. Cheers!

Cool, cool, cool! :))
I love it
Have a nice week, Pechiche

Oooh ! Thank you very much @nirtsfaty my friend! I'm glad you liked it ! Nice week to you too!

tu version esta genial amigo, te felicito!

muchas gracias @josevallera! Abrazo!

This is so awesome, bro!
Crisp, clean, beautiful vocal tone! And tasteful acoustic guitar accompaniment!
Great work!
🙏🏽🎶🤟🏽⭐️👌🏽

Whoa ! @nathankaye! thank you very much! I'm really happy that you liked it! You rock my friend! Cheers!

loved it pechi! great cover choice for your voice and you nailed a great version

Oooh :) ! Thank you very much Bonnie ! I wasn't sure about this one ! But I'm really glad you liked it !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66745.34
ETH 3326.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71