Open Mic Songwriters Challenge Week 1 - Broken Mirror - ''La Rambla'' Original Song

in #openmic7 years ago

Hello my steemit friends , I'm excited to be participating in this contest led by my brother @meno and @luzcypher , let's see how much original music is created and shared here !

This Song is called ''La Rambla''

La Rambla in this song is the coastal part of the city of Montevideo , Uruguay. Where this song grabs inspiration from .

Why this particular place? Well , at the start of this year I moved to Uruguay , but my personal plans just collapsed immediately , I broke up with my girl , I had no job and was pretty much in a deep depression ... All I did was walk almost everyday around this place .. the ''rambla'' of Montevideo.. just thinking.. and thinking.. and thinking....

I can't write when Im emotionally unstable , what I do is that i go to my past self and draw inspiration from there.. once Im already ''in peace'' ... So i thought of going back to that particular episode in my life to write this little song.

It is a very ironic song , with sad lyrics over happy music and describing lots of unprobable or impossible situations.... like ''being taught by a broken mirror how to swim on ice... and feel heat....''

Hope you like it.

La Rambla
(Pechiche Mena)

Pasos que se hunden
en el fango del presente
mente que le habla al corazón
le miente

Tardes que se vuelven noche
y no regresa el dia
Le pido a las sombras
ser mi compañia

Olas que revientan
a lo largo del cemento
lavando las penas
que se lleva el viento

Calles que te cuentan
del concreto sus historias
piedras que te invitan
a tallar memorias

Tocar en el cielo un tambor
Caminar en Agua
Correr en Vapor
Cantarle a un lienzo en blanco
y ver si cambia de color

En mis suelos
Tallos se han secado
Rompe el Viento
llueve en el Tejado

Un espejo roto
me ha enseñado
a nadar en hielo
y sentir calor

Translation:

Steps that sink
in the mud of the present
Mind that speaks to the heart
and lies to him

Afternoons that become nights
Days are not coming back
I ask my shadow
If he would be my company

Waves that hit
all along the cement
Washing away the sorrow
that flies with the wind

Streets that tell you their stories
Stones that invite you to carve your memories

Play a drum in the sky
Walk on water , run on vapor
Sing to a blank canvas
and hope it changes color

In my grounds , leaves have dried up
Wind is breaking me , it's raining on my ceiling
A broken mirror has taught me
how to swim on ice.... and feel heat.

Thanks for listening!

Till next week!

Pechiche Mena

Sort:  

Great composition, brother - loved it on its own apart from any theme!...

thank you very much @passion-ground , I'm glad you liked it ! I hope I can participate on all 8 weeks :). I like the challenge !

Her beautiful ...
best regards from me @fakriadi
I have followed you
Follow me

como siempre increible! una voz muy dulce y una melodia muy linda! Un abrazo!

muchas gracias @soykatonline ! veo que tambien estas concursando con musica propia! me alegro que te animes a mostrar tu musica. abrazo !

muchisimas gracias ! ♥ un abrazototote !

That is a beautiful song. Thank you.

Thank you @luzcypher , i'm really glad you enjoyed this little song and thanks again for helping us bring out our music , big kudos to my brother @meno .... but don't tell him... he stole my lunch.... more than once...

Saludos! esta chévere la canción éxitos

amazing poetry! and a really sweet sounding tune :) x

thank you very much @basilmarples ! i'm really glad you liked it :) . Cheers!

excelente tema meniski... super catchy el coro!

gracias irmao ... la vieja confiable I - IV - V .... despues de luchar tanto por no usar esa progresion... era la que funcionaba... a veces menos es mas.. jejeje

Qué buena esta canción! Me gusta mucho la composición de los acordes. Me recuerda un poco a John Mayer! Genial!

Ufff .. John Mayer es uno de mis artistas preferidos.. que halago! gracias por tu comment hermano! un gran abrazo

jajajajaja pucheche in da jaus

Genial! Que buena música y letra loco, te botaste jaja.

Y bueno creo que la historia detrás de la letra le da más peso aún, espero que hayas logrado trascender esos momentos difíciles, un abrazo! y por cierto que bonito ese lugar.

gracias bro , si , todo se supera... y montevideo es muy lindo , tengo ganas de volver a visitarlo :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60897.42
ETH 3369.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51