Steemit Open Mic Week 94 - 12 segundos de oscuridad ( Jorge Drexler )

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)


Hello Steemit!

Well.. here we are again with a little entry for the Open Mic contest , this time going back to my simple guitar/vocal videos , to take a little break from production gizmos :P. This week I am covering this song because @yidneth challenged me to! .. A couple weeks ago I asked her to learn this song for her Dlive streams and she performed it over at discord and challenged me to learn it too.. soo... here we are!

This song is one of my favorites from Drexler , translating to ''12 seconds of darkness'' . It is a song dedicated to a lighthouse located in Cabo Polonio, Uruguay which light takes 12 seconds to make a full turn.. while leaving everything else in darkness until the light hits again.. it's a beautiful song and has a very dreamy and melancholic vibe.. so here is my take:

12 segundos de oscuridad

Jorge Drexler

Gira el haz de luz
Para que se vea desde alta mar
Yo buscaba el rumbo de regreso
Sin quererlo encontrar

Pie detrás de pie
Iba tras el pulso de claridad
La noche cerrada apenas se abría
Se volvía a cerrar

Un faro quieto nada sería
Guía mientras no deje de girar
No es la luz lo que importa en verdad
Son los 12 segundos de oscuridad

Para que se vea desde alta mar
De poco le sirve al navegante
Que no sepa esperar

Pie detrás de pie
No hay otra manera de caminar
La noche del Cabo
Revelada en un inmenso radar

Un faro para sólo de día
Guía mientras no deje de girar
No es la luz lo que importa en verdad
Son los 12 segundos de oscuridad

Here is a translation:

12 seconds of darkness

Jorge Drexler

Turn the beam of light
To be seen from the high seas
I was looking for the return path
Without wanting to find it.

step by step
I was after the pulse of clarity
The closed night hardly opened
and It closed again

A still lighthouse would be nothing
Guide while it does not stop turning
It is not light that really matters
It's the 12 seconds of darkness

To be seen from the high seas
is of little use to the navigator
who does not know how to wait

step by step
There is no other way to walk
The ''Cabo's'' night
revealed in a huge radar

A lighthouse for daytime only
Guide while it does not stop turning
It is not light that really matters
It's the 12 seconds of darkness

Thanks for listening!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

Harmonize a steemian in 3, 2, 1 ....
You sing it beautifully
Thanks also for suggesting it for me to learn, it was quite a challenge for myself because It's not my usual style but I fell in love with the words and some of the chord changes, kind of love when it gets really high

<3<3<3 ! you can have your ''revenge now'' ;)

enhorabuena, mi amigo hermoso. @pechichemena.

gracias wilinsberto querido :)

This song makes me feel sexy! Well done, piggy.

hahahaha thank you @imusify!

Piggy Swag

You rose quite nicely to @yidneth's challenge, brother...
Beautiful performance, Pechiche!

I totally destroyed it on dlive harmonizing on top, haha but due to tech glitched I need to redeem myself and record it properly haha.
I did not know the song but Pechi challenged me and now I kind of am obsessed with the lyrics.

Thank you @passion-ground brother!.. and btw @yidneth I already heard your Dlive version and it was beautiful! can't wait for a ''finished'' version :D !

Just letting you know that we found your cover song incredible and we featured you in our Cover Wednesday! Yippee!

woooooO! thank you very much :D! just resteemed it... have a cookie!! ...with ice cream

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61430.70
ETH 3318.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49