Steemit Open Mic Week 59 entry - "It's Alright Ma (I'm Only Bleeding)" - Bob Dylan coversteemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic7 years ago

“He not busy being born is busy dying.” That’s just one of many gems that originated in this song but have taken on new life in the English language and American culture. Songs like this are the reason Bob Dylan is a Nobel laureate. Strings of metaphors that seem stream-of-consciousness, but are razor-sharp critiques of - well, you name it. This is the nuclear bomb of protest songs (while being much more than a protest song), without the optimism of his earlier work. I’ve read that this is one of Dylan’s favorites of his songs. He said he could never write lyrics like this again.

This song sounds kind of like a folk version of rap, before rap was a thing (this song was written in 1964). What makes it tricky though, is that it’s not as precise as rap. Dylan loves cramming lots of beautiful words into odd spaces, and sometimes it's a very hard thing to cover. I haven’t listened to the song in a while (as is often my habit when learning a cover), so I just kept playing it and found my own way of cramming those words into the guitar rhythms. This is a long song, but it is one of the very best from the absolute master of songwriting.

Sort:  

Beep! Beep! This humvee will be patrolling by and assisting new veterans, retirees, and military members here on Steem. @shadow3scalpel will help by upvoting posts from a list of members maintained by @chairborne and responding to any questions replied to this comment.

Awesome cover, Paul! Super guitar work, and I LOVE your DOG in the beginning too!

Thank you! That's my little supermodel. My canine Tawny Kitaen.

She's a beauty, man! What's not to love about Dogs!

wow Bob Dylan please do his sweet child of mine sir hehehe.. but before that please send my regards to your dog..

Classic! You sound really good.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

great work my friend love the performance , good tune

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61577.64
ETH 3448.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53