Steemit Open Mic Week 54 entry - @paulhallman - Walls (Tom Petty cover)

in #openmic7 years ago

This one hurt.

This isn’t the first song I thought of as a tribute to Tom Petty. I wanted to do Angel Dream, but I already have a nice little video of it with harmony vocals from my old friend Alex Matos. I can’t post that for open mic because it’s almost a year old, so I’ve made another post for it here.

As it turns out, I think maybe Walls is a better tribute if you have to pick one. I’ve always loved this song, but this time it was hard to finish. I don’t often feel such a sense of loss when a musician or other celebrity dies. But Levon Helm a few years ago, Prince last year, and now Tom Petty…

This really hurts.

Sort:  

Classic. R.I.P. Tome Petty.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Not a widely known Petty tune - at least from my perspective... Nevertheless, I loved your rendition thereof and heartfelt tribute to one of the great musical artists of our time. Excellent brother... Love it!

Loved that you did a Tom Petty tribute. You can really feel how meaningful this song is to you. You have a great voice!

Thank you so much!

He sure did write some great ones. You honored him well.

Yes he did. Thank you very much.

love this song.. wonderful

Congratulations @paulhallman! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64475.77
ETH 2770.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66