Steemit Open Mic Week 58: Songs from the Attic: Track-1, Loft-Music (original)

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

Cranking this up to full volume with a good set of headphones will enhance the experience exponentially… So - Go for it!

I think this is my 24th consecutive week of doing submission posts for the Open-Mic venue. With each passing week, it becomes more and more challenging to record something new – let alone something original.

At some point, I’m bound to come up empty in having something adequately prepared for any given week – but that won’t stop me from tryin’! This week’s entry is a perfect case in point.

This week’s entry was serendipitously inspired by @luzcypher when he replied to me last week with regard to my failing to announce the “#57” amid my intro. He said something along the lines of “Don’t worry about it this week, man” – “we know it’s you.”

Full Thread for Week 58 Steemit.png

His last four words, (“we know it’s you”), struck a chord within my emotional memory bank about a song I had written nearly 30-years ago about a fiery hot temptress of a girl that I had dated for nearly a year.

As you might have guessed, this little out-of-this-world hottie dropped me without warning like a ton of bricks and well, yeah, I was emotionally (sha-doobied) shattered beyond all recognition.

Steemit HOT-CHICK week 58.jpg

Yeah-No, that’s not her, but she was - every bit the total knockout.

Though I chain-smoked cigarettes and consumed mountains of coffee, I didn’t drink or do any drugs at the time ( btw, I just started drinking wine a few years ago; really – and I think I’m already an alcoholic… kidding… Ha!) so at the end of the day, what really helped me get past all of the otherwise unbearable heartache was MUSIC.

Anyway, in an attempt to convince both her and myself that I was indeed “the one for her,” I wrote this song entitled – “You Know It’s Me.” Hence, the associative trigger from the @luzcypher comment, “we know it’s you.”

Well, needless to say, she never got the memo and all that I had left besides music to soothe my aching heart was TIME – and it took major doses of such to finally apportion and condense my intense emotional pain into that of a faded distant memory.

Back here in the present however, after that serendipitous tip from Luzcy, I went ahead and rummaged through my attic (hence the title term, “Songs From The Attic”) to try and find my old music sheets, and I found a small treasure trove of such within an old manila folder.

However, all I found on this particular song were the lyrics written out like a poem – so I had to rearrange the entire song to the best of my recollection, and make up a new music sheet for it so that I could play it for you here on Open-Mic.

It took me a few hours to scratch it all out and tidy things up, and another several hours of recording and editing to get the limited production you see here.

Since I’m not really a “singer,” I never learned how to render harmonies – but I tried my improvisational ass off here… (Ha!) Yes, the harmonies are rather sub-par, but they get a little better at the end – I think.

I’ll tell ya what though, I’ve never had so much fun recounting a most painful event from the past as I had rearranging and recording this song. I guess that means I’ve completely healed. Finally! Hope you guys have just half the fun watching it as I had playing it.

Perhaps I’ll be able to salvage more “Songs From The Attic” in the future – we’ll see…

Until next time, to all my fellow Steemian Musicians who labor tirelessly in the name of love for music – thank you for doing what you do! I so appreciate all of your artistic efforts and talent!

And as always, thank you @pfunk & @luzcypher for making this all possible…

PEACE, LOVE, & JUSTICE for ALL


YOU KNOW IT'S ME

Intro to Double Chorus

  ...
  You know it’s me baby, 
 - all of the time.
  I’m the only one now, 
- I shoulda made you mine.
...
  You know it’s me baby, 
  - you know it’s true.
 I’m the only one now, 
- that shoulda made it with you.
...

First Verse

...
Had my mind made up,
- was just a matter of time.
Before you’d see the light baby,
- there’s no love like mine.
...
Who else baby,
- did you have any clue?
Or are you comin’ up empty
- tryin’ to fill my shoes. 
...

Bridge

...
Try and deny it, 
- run and hide from the truth.
But ya know it’s me baby,
- cause I’m a hundred proof.
...
I was made to order, 
- and I was true to form.
And I’d love you pretty baby
- till the break of dawn.
...

Chorus

...
You know it’s me baby, 
- you know it’s true.
I’m the only one now,
- that shoulda made it with you.
...

Second Verse

...
I ‘was just as clean as a whistle,
- and built to last.
Lot’s of lovin’ – in my pocket,
- had some clean-cut cash.
...
I knew who you were,
- I had the line on your heart.
Ya had to let me in baby,
- before the lovin’ could start.
...

Bridge

...   
Lovin’ and runnin’, 
- avoidin’ the facts.
Just get your game in motion,
- get your love on track.
...
I’m on top of my action, 
- paid the devil his due.
Ain’t no time for distractions,
- I got some news for you.
...

Double Chorus to End

...
You know it’s me baby, 
- you know it’s true.
I’m the only one now, 
- that shoulda made it with you.
...
You know it’s me baby, 
- all of the time.
I’m the only one now, 
- I shoulda made you mine.
...

Final Chorus, Outro – Slowed

...
You know it’s me baby, 
- you know it’s true.
I’m the only one now, 
- that shoulda made it with you.
... 

Sort:  

well firstable... i LOVE THE SONG! . and the story behind it.

You Sir, should make and EP called,, 'Songs from the attic".
PLEASE DO! hahaha.

and yes.. harmonies by the end of the song are perfect!
@luzcypher know its you.. and we all know it too!

Perfect song work week 58!

So glad you liked it @soykatonline... you're too kind, thank you!

you are very welcome.

Isn't it remarkable that a few words can trigger our brains into lost memories? Funny how the mind works. I'm happy you remembered this little gem.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Yes, indeed it is... Thank you, brother! Hopefully I can salvage a few more "Songs From The Attic" since you got me up there! Ha! :-)

If you want to have a fun party I know just the guy: "Passion-Ground" just give the guy a guitar and an egg shaker and he'll get it going!

Don't forget the Claves, and the Tambourines! Ha-Ha... :-)

Right On, Brother! Thanks, Vache! :-)

Oh now this was too cool! Really love the split screen shot. Your background vocalist did a wonderful job by the way! 😉

Ha! So kind of you to say... Thank you so much, @the21plus! :-)

That was pretty cool! I really enjoyed that song.
Your harmonies aren't that bad, pretty good at the end, like you said. Harmonies seem to a tricky thing for a lot of people, I used to wonder why it was difficult for some people, before I realized that not everyone can hear them in their head.

So glad you liked it Amber, thank you! Yeah, we always seem to think that if we can do something - that everyone else can do it too... Not always the case though... I can sorta "hear" the harmonies in my head, but getting them out of my mouth concurrent with hearing the dominant melody is for me, quite another story! :-)

Wow what a song! And the performance! Split screen and multi track recordings ! You outdid yourself with this one, came a long way since the kitchen sink! ;)

Thank you kindly, Geena... so very nice of you to say! :-)

listened to it with an AKG K77 Headphones, great job on panning brother :) , also thanks luzcypher for making you remember this great song :)))) , you did it perfect my friend and your harmonies worked well!!! best wishes for you!!!
peace!!

Cool, man... Glad you picked up on the panning... I'm certainly an amateur - but I try my best anyway. Thank you, David!

You must be a cool mutherfucker. This was great entertainment.

So glad you think so @Ik666! Entertainment is what it's all about, all tastes and genre's included... Thank you, Brother!

Be careful, dude, singing about girls can get you into all kinds of trouble! That's why I keep my lyrics to politics:D
Well done with good vibes!

LMAO.... you're right on the mark, Andrew! I've come and gone so many times that at this point... "What difference does it make!" ha-ha... Thank you, my brother!

I fucking love this song!!!

I fucking love that you love this song! LMFAO.... thank you, Tarot... you are too kind!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65156.13
ETH 3530.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48