Steemit Open Mic Week #49: My Baby Don’t Feel Like a Man Today (original)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

Why, YES, of course! As you might well imagine, there is indeed a specific back-story relative to the creation of this song. There is as well, a story behind the reference to Joe Walsh and The Eagles, along with similar mentions of Chuck Berry; alongside the inherent twang of that “little-bit-O-COUNTRY”, you might be hearing here too. And yeah, I’m Joey!

All such inquiries relative to the aforementioned will be made perfectly clear upon viewing the uncut version of this latest contribution to the openmic community, which can be found (in all of its unedited glory) toward the very bottom of this post.

In the interim, here’s the “official” & ‘proper” submission (with lyrical embelleshments) for this week’s openmic entry…

                   My Baby Don’t Feel Like a Man Today

      My baby don’t feel like a man today. 
     -My baby don’t feel like a man today.
      She’s done up - cuddly, cozy, - in a lady-like way,              
      But, my baby don’t feel like a man today!

   I called her yesterday, in the middle of the night,
   She told me hang on Joey, - and just hold on tight.

    I asked to come around, but she wouldn’t say,
    If she felt just like me, or if she’d rather wait.              
    She said she’s dolled-up, but she couldn’t stay, 
    I guess my baby don’t feel like a man today!

      I said I‘d try again tomorrow - till I get it right, 
      She told me hang on, Joey, - just hold on tight!

   Tomorrow came; I asked her if she thinks that I could, 
   She said she didn’t know, but if I liked, that I should.
   With that, I pound my chest, - I said, knock on wood, 
   I caught my baby’s eye, - she’s gonna love me good!

          I got her all alone, - and there was no one else in sight, 
          She said; - “Just love me, Joey, - and hold on tight!

   We woke up the next morning to a brand new day, 
   I looked into her eyes in that familiar way.
   She sat straight up – so pretty, - and she did not sway,
   She told me we were finished, and I could not stay.

        I said I‘d try tomorrow - until I get it right, 
        She told me hang on Joey, - just hold on tight!

       My baby don’t feel like a man today. 
       My baby don’t feel like a man today.
       She’s done up - cuddly, cozy, - in a lady-like way,              
       But, my baby don’t feel like a man today.

        I called her yesterday, in the middle of the night,
        She told me hang on Joey, - just hold on tight!

So, apparently, this referenced pattern recognition to which I allude in the uncut version, is a very real thing indeed! Apparently, our brains (at least my twisted one) have a propensity to uncover music from wind vibrations.

I can attest to this personally, as I’ve so eloquently attempted to articulate herein - with my “off-the-cuff" and muddled back-story relative to the very genesis of this particular creation of musical frolic.

For those more curious about this phenomenon, it’s called Apophenia, Audio Pareidolia and/or Musical Ear Syndrome. To learn more about it, check out this link by Doctor Neil Bauman, Ph.D.

http://hearinglosshelp.com/blog/apophenia-audio-pareidolia-and-musical-ear-syndrome/

So - Without further ado, it’s all explained herein as I present to you the UNCUT version of this particular “Frankenstein.”

Replete with the best of my fallible limitations and utterly profane disabilities, I give you the elongated back-story of this mindless wonder of a so-called song and how it came to pass.

Until next time, to all my fellow Steemian Musicians who labor tirelessly in the name of love for music – thank you for doing what you do! I so appreciate all of your artistic efforts and talent!

And as always, thank you @pfunk & @luzcypher for making this all possible…

PEACE, LOVE, & JUSTICE for ALL…

Sort:  

Raw man! Another hell fire entry! Keep it up.

Thank you, Evo!

This is attitude. Amazing. Keep it going. Cheers!!

Thank you, Tam!

channeling chuck berry!! wooo.. my baby dont feel like a man today!! love you passion_ground woooo

Thanks! Love you too "sound!"

I like your work sir. A true artist. Right to the core. Give us more and dont stop.

Thank you, "soon." I look forward to hearing more from you too!

Will be soon-er than u expect. So looking forward to it.

Yea that's what I'm talkin bout!
Don't forget about the James Gang - the smoker ya drink the player ya get.
I'm just coming off 10 days on and starting 4 days off and this song is going down good (just like the beers and pool).
Passion rocks!

Thank you so much brother - so glad it's goin' down nice for you!

You're the coolest motherf*cker on Steemit. 😎

Now that's the best compliment I've yet to receive! :-) Thank you, Clint!

You rock man! I'll be looking forward to your future blogs. Great composition

Thank you, Oliver!

oh man I love your uncut versions so much. Great story. I often sing along with fans or vacuum cleaners or what have you - totally know what you are talking about here. Fresh in the fan waves. You crack me up. Great straight ahead blues number as well - kudos to the fan!

Thank you kindly, Carl! - So glad to know that I'm not the only one... :-) (ha-ha!)

👏👏👏👏👏 Man oh man, I just so love to see a guy enjoying his time with his axe! Very JW sound too. Loved it, and you can't beat a straight from the hip blues. 👍

p.s. I was doing some steel work with Rick Kemp (Steeleye Span) in a studio many years back and for a couple of hours, he'd been working a riff for a new number when the engineer mentioned that the riff sounded a bit like JW's "Life's Been Good". Rick said something like "ah, fuck it!" And tore up his sheet of notes and stormed out of the studio. 😏

Why thank you, Sir Geoff! p.s - that was a great "aside" story too!

Rocky Mountain Way is my fav of Joe W. You have a gutsy sound(if that's the right word) Keep rockin'!

Right there with you on Rocky Mountain Way, @steamrolla... Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64921.79
ETH 3541.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36