Steemit Open Mic Week #43: Fast Freight Train, Wife-Beater De Jour, and No Glasses -Nuthin’…steemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic7 years ago

Steemit Open Mic Week #43: Based on my popularity last week, perhaps my previous cover entry back in week 41, which landed me in the top-10, was a one-hit-wonder after all. Could be, but I'm still having fun and for me, that's what it's all about.

Perhaps it was due to the fact that last week’s entries were so awesome! There were so many exceptional duets and performances last week along with some fantastic classical music, and as usual, a plethora of brilliant originals, it's a wonder I ranked at all. – Oh well, that’s life …

BTW, I love the new and improved open mic “Chart List” from @andybets and the new contest rules as well.

Anyway, this is one of my all-time favorites… Don’t ask me why, it just is… I guess it’s one of my favorites because of its recall-reference to a past long gone, its driving persistence, its groove, and its intrinsic melodic magic.

Perhaps that is why it captured my attention to begin with – and why till this day, it continues to get under my skin each and every time I listen to it.

I hope that my feeble rendition herein sparks your interest in discovering the same… Yeah, quite often, I wish I were back on the Bayou… How about you?

Oh and please, forgive my vocal “lead guitar break” – I just needed to toss that in to hap-hazardly keep time with the songs basic architectural foundations… 

Until next time, to all my fellow Steemian Musicians who labor tirelessly in the name of love for music – thank you for doing what you do! I so appreciate all of your artistic efforts and talent!

And as always, thank you @pfunk & @luzcypher for making this all possible… PEACE, LOVE, & JUSTICE for ALL…

Sort:  

Classic tune. Brings back great memories.

I remember playing Tipatinas in New Orleans opening for Roy Roger's and the Delta Rhythm Kings and meeting Aaron Neville there. Makes me think of the wild tchoupitoulas.

Thanks for playing and all your support and oh, yeah, I almost forgot. What kind of dog do you have?

Great memories there @luzypher thanks for sharing! Oh yeah, the love of my life - my 12-year old American Cocker Spaniel, Quinn... I'll tell him that you asked about him.. :)

Luzcypher is right!!! this shit is dope as fuck!!!! yo bro I play Violin and just made an entry to open mic. It would be awesome if you checked me out and told me if you liked it:)

Thank you @jeanramos I'll definitely be checking you out!

Very cool brother. Keep rocking !!!
Peace !!!

@atulmittal ... Thank you friend... likewise!

That had me drumming on my desk - nice one!

@andybets ... Thanks Andy! Music and Movement go hand-in-hand, so I'm happy to learn I can still generate some motion... :)

I was wanting to play some Sonny Landreth style lead on that one my man! Then I came down to earth and remembered my limitations... Anyhow, your bit was cool. 👏👏 Nice one.

p.s. Are you drying out or something? Where was the 🍷? 😉

Thanks mate... hey - there are no limits... except when it comes to how much wine one should consume on a daily basis! LOL...

Thank you! Sometimes these entries of mine are more fun than I can handle... :)

I really felt like I should be there jammin this one with you. Nicely done Brother!

That would have been awesome if you were! Thanks Bri...

My pleasure. And one thing is certain, you never know what the future will bring!

you're so cool dude!! I love ya! you can feel the passion every time you play.

@aaronmda ... Thank you my brother... I feel yours as well!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57529.75
ETH 2571.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44