You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Open Mic Week 63 - METAL DRUMS Improvised Over A Backing Track (use headphones/speakers with good bass)

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

Yo, @steemmatt – neighbors can be a bitch, man - right! Dude, man – I so appreciate your intellectual acumen… Not only with regard to music, but also with regard to your take on crypto and the like… The level of intensity to which your intellect resides therein, manifests itself quite clearly in your obviously rather capable percussive abilities. I totally loved this submission… The frickin’ kick was out of this world! Were you using a double kick or was it just a single foot thumping from the gateways of neighborly hell… ha-ha… Seriously, dude, this was awesome!

Sort:  

Wow, too many huge compliments for me to handle at once!! Thank you very much! I don't think anyone has ever said anything close to that before. I'm usually a jack of all trades and feel stretched too thin at times for my standards, so seeing something like means a lot. Thanks also for noticing some of my crypto comments too.

I've been making inroads with my neighbors lately and now have their cell phones to coordinate times. They're warming up a bit since I've been polite/proactive after explaining what it's all for. Even with short "safe" times to play, I can now do it semi-confidently with minimal worry about someone banging on my door or floor. With this entire self-recording aspect I'm fairly new to, it's just extra unnecessary pressure that interferes with me rocking out naturally. I'm usually taking my headphones off after every take to listen for knocks and peeking at my cell phone for texts. One day, if my crypto works out, I'll build the best soundproof booth the world can offer, or play in my garage on a private island.

I actually tried to step it up this time per your suggestions, and had my phone propped to record video of my feet to edit/split screen, but the confusion on being entered into week 62 by accident prompted me to abandon ship today when I redid my take. I'll do it the next time it fits the song.

The double bass drum pedal I use is below. Ironically, it's called the Pearl Eliminator - Demon Drive. It'd be really tough to do that with one foot at that tempo, but perhaps on a real bass drum with lots of practice.


Source

Thanks for going above and beyond.

I just love that double bass-pedal graphic, man! So cool... as was the entirety of your most kind reply! I very much hope that you get that "sound-proof" booth - or at the very least - that you get to that private island to which you allude. In the interim, I'm just happy just to dig your drumming and ponder the obvious relevance of your sage wisdom...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65702.61
ETH 3485.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51