Steemit Open Mic Week #42: Well I Ain’t Gonna Go Sleep With the Fishes…steemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

"Steemit" Open Mic Week #42: Well, I ain't gonna swim with the fishes, I’ll tell ya that much.

To say that I was shocked to have made it into the top ten on the Open Mic charts last week is an understatement.

I’m tellin’ ya, I get this strange sense that it was some sorta glitch in the block-chain - that’s what I’m thinkin’anyway.

Frankly, I’m no match for all the great and talented artists that enter each week. I can’t thank you all enough for your encouragement and support – it’s quite flattering, and every single vote and comment means the world to those of us putting ourselves out there each week. So yeah, my humble thanks to all.

Even though there are more than one-hundred entries each week, I try my best to give each one a quick listen and give each performer the opportunity to draw me into their web of magic and artistry. Those I truly like, that catch my fancy in one way or another, - I listen to those entries the whole way through - those are the entries that I vote for, and comment on.

Going through the Open Mic Charts each week is like a treasure hunt for me, I love it! You just never know when someone is gonna knock-your-socks-off - ya know what I mean?

So if you can, please try and give all entries at least a quick listen, ya never know when someone, or something is going to strike your fancy, put a smile on your face, bring a tap to your foot, or a tear to your eye.

So anyway, here I am being a silly wise-guy as usual, and no, I ain’t gonna end up sleepin’ with the fishes when I’m gone. I’ll tell you what though, I got me some other plans.


Until next time, cheers to all my fellow Steemian Musicians who labor tirelessly in the name of love for music – thank you for doing what you do! I so appreciate all of your artistic efforts and talent!

And as always, thank you @pfunk & @luzcypher for making this all possible… PEACE, LOVE, & JUSTICE for ALL…

open mic 42.png

Sort:  

It is like going on a treasure hunt. Thanks for playing Open Mic. I remember seeing Spirit live. They were awesome.

Thanks @luzcypher ... Treasure Hunt Indeed! Yeah, Norman Greebaum penned, composed, and released this one-hit-wonder back in '69. It got me then, and it still get's me now... Thanks again bro!

Hey, p-g I loved that. Got my foot tapping before I even realised what the song was! You have absolutely nailed your feelings in your intro (above) and you've also said it for me and probably many more of us. I often hear a song I wish I'd written, well you've coined a paragraph I wish I'd authored! Well done man.

"I can’t thank you all enough for your encouragement and support – it’s quite flattering, and every single vote and comment means the world to those of us putting ourselves out there each week."

Spot on that. 👍

Thank you Sir Geoff! ...perhaps I'll become famous for something after-all. Maybe I should copywrite that quote.(ha-ha). Thanks again man, really!

Nice rendition! This one took me back, and elevated my "Spirit" no pun intended. You rocked it Brother!

Thank you @brimax that means a lot coming from you... Thanks brotha!

You're welcome my good man....save me a sip of that wine!

Yeah!! Love the introduction man :D

Congrats on last week's performance and best of luck for this this week!

Thank you kindly... everyone gets lucky every now and then...

Very cool bro... I like your zest... Peace and love !!!

Thank you brother.... Perhaps I should have chosen "Zesty Italian" as my screen name :) ...back atcha man!

Thanks man, and with Chuck on my side - how can I lose! :)

Great work man , Great performance.
7346118.jpg

Thank you David! I'll "come at you" only with the best of intentions.... Another way of saying that is for all of us to "Come Together" right now, over me... or for any number of reasons one could imagine... Thanks brotha!

i am so in love with you lol ...loved the intro speech... made me feel the music even more.. yeahhh love it

@soundlegion ... the feeling is mutual.. :) ... so glad you enjoyed it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59889.02
ETH 2673.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46