Steemit OpenMic Week 108 - @paintingangels "Pebbles in the Sand" (original song)

in #openmic5 years ago (edited)


But, Serena.. how can you watch the moonset if your back is against the sand? You'd be looking straight up. Well.. I will tell you. I was sitting on a beach in Cape Cod one day and I positioned myself up against this bank of sand.. leaned up against it.. back against the sand. There you have it.

Also you actually could be lying flat down in the sand and just have your head turned to the side.

But I was sitting up. It's one of my greatest memories. I have a picture I took from where I was sitting. Look, how beautiful this is. If you look closely you'll see someone staring at me from the distance.. I didn't know she was there when I took it. Funny to look back on. She probably thought I was taking her picture.

13267847_10154080064285450_6365195082778976859_n.jpg

So, anyway.. I sat and watched the waves roll in and I played with the sand as I sat there, noticing all the tiny little pebbles and shells. It's one of my favorite memories. And so that's what I picture in my head when I sing this song. I've only seen the ocean in Cape Cod, Mass. (4 times) and once in Destin, Florida. It's been years since I've seen to ocean. I cannot express to you in words how much I miss it.

The bird here symbolizes a dear friend who has flown away up to Heaven now, far too early in life. I often use in my lyrics the act of "flying" to replace the words for actually "dying." So, there's a fun fact about me.

Thanks very much to anyone who listens.

♥- Serena


Pebbles in the Sand

Tiny little pebbles in the sand,
I lifted them up into my hand
and tossed them far away, into the sea
They're gone now, forever
let 'em be

The tide, it rolls away now
and I know it will find me once again
and I now watch the moon set
here with my back against the sand

I saw a bird and he saw me
I hope that he remembers me
He flew from a tree down to my hand
and then he flew away
beyond the sand

The tide, it rolls away now
but I know it will find me once again
and I now watch the moon set
here with my back against the sand

©2018 paintingangels (s. matthews)

Sort:  

I have you in an open chat in discord right now.. so.. I'll just say... <3<3<3<3 .. love the little falsetto ... Damn to Good... Damn to Good.. take notessss Pechi .


ha ha.. well thank you, Pechi! I have a notebook you can use but it's full of notes.

such lovely imagery.. its funny how people identify with various animals. i went thru a phase in high school - college where i pictured myself as an alien. perhaps thats what is behind the obsession with ufos.. people feel like they are from another planet or species, so identifying as a bird or a grain of sand is just like the mind on a natural internal acid trip[;.

Thanks girlie! Maybe we are both aliens from a sandy planet with lots of birds. Twinsies. ♥♥♥

what a gorgeous song and a beautiful post to give it ground to grow in. Really captured that peaceful feeling of hunkering down in the dunes and letting night fall around you on a beach. And a wonderful way to give wings to your friend's memory

Isnt she so talented? Perfect treat for me before heading to dreamland

Says the dreamiest of the dreamy.. <3

Thank you very much, Carl. I appreciate that :) I'm happy you felt the mood. It's so difficult to get out the exact scenario in such a way that adequately describes it. Thanks for listening. <3

Hey @paintingangels <3

Great original song!

Thanks for sharing!

Good luck on the #openmic this week!

Cheers from Brazil 😘

With love,
@trilumia band ✨

I love your style of phrasing and your delivery.. very nice serena ;9)

Thank you, gibber! And thank you so much also for resteeming ♥ :)

My pleasure... I really enjoy your work ;9)

🎶🎶🎶🎶🎶 awwe just needed your voice before going to sleep. Lots of harmonies in my head. Iike the fingerstyle too.
Serena back to open mic, oh my sweet moonchild

I found your explanation sweet loo, very you

So happy you listened, Pris. <3 Thank youuuu..just sat down and did it, I feel so badly when I miss weeks. I always imagine you harmonizing, of course. ♥♥♥

Serena, this song could be in a movie. Pretty like you.

By the way, you sound very sharp. what is your vocal range?

Thank you, Monica! You are the pretty one. ♥ I am not sure of my range but I know I exceeded it a bit here.. Allergies.. lol

the pillow on the sofa is happy and I am too :)
It is always so nice to hear you. I like it when you suddenly look at the camera :)

It is a very happy pillow :D Thank you, mister.. I am always happy to hear from you <3 I try to look at the camera sometimes so I dont seem so uncomfortable. It is a lie :D


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70