You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Open Mic Week 81 - Stop 'n' Think (Original) - Nathan Kaye

in #openmic6 years ago

Just fantastic, Nathan. The way I see it is that you can't let the world drown you.. you have to turn your back sometimes, but now and then it's important to take a peek behind you to make sure no one is coming to take you down anyway. I haven't watched the news since Trump was elected, honestly. My husband tells me what's going on. I left facebook because it became the topic of nearly every one of my friends and family. Family and friends began to unfriend me because I'm an open mind in a conservative land (Tennessee - the deep south is quite opinionated and very backwards from my own views.) Glad to get away from that.

And you know, a dear family member unfriended me, then got cancer and died before we ever resolved our differences. Life shouldn't be that way. How to live with something like that.. I don't know. Just move on.

Anyway, I relate to your feelings very much, and I adore your song. Thanks for sharing it, my friend.
♥-serena

Sort:  

Thanks so much @paintingangels!
Yeah, you can't let the negativity in the world drown you. Totally agree. In fact, how can you drown in it when there's so much more positivity in the world, right?
(I know what you mean by FB and it's politics echo chambers - so over it)
I'm sorry to hear that a dear family member of yours disconnected then passed before you could resolve it together... As I mentioned in another comment, feeling emotions is important, but then letting those emotions go is vital. That's the same with differences with those we love.
I have found that if I am unable to resolve something with someone (either through death or total disconnection) I do a little ritual of burning something that significantly represents them in the fire (no don't burn their house down. hehe) and set the negativity free whilst visualising all the energetic chords/tentacles being cut so that there are no psychic/emotional/psychological leakages to them. Great way to move on.

I nearly rerecorded this performance again because I got some lyrics wrong and bled on the lapsteel guitar, but the energy was right so I just left it as is and posted it...

Anyway, thanks so much, lovely!
:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64078.16
ETH 3471.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52