Steemit Openmic-Week68-Original Song-Til' We Meet Again

in #openmic7 years ago

Another one take wonder, as my voice is still barely alive. But it went okay so I think you can get the vibe...

What can I say, this whole challenge has been quite an experience!

Of course many many thanks to @meno and @luzcypher as well as judges @passion-ground and @krystle for their hard work and endless encouragement.

If you said to me that I had to write a song every week, on someone else's schedule, and someone else's theme, I would say "I can't do that !"...I don't think I have even written eight songs in a year before. Also I can't usually try to write about something, the song has to come of its own volition.

I realize now that "I" can't write a song every week as I said above.; these songs seem to happen as "downloads" through some miracle of God's will and your inspiration.

It's similar to a time in my life when I was reading the Astro Logos for people; I would always say to myself five minutes beforehand "What the hell am I going to say to this person, I have nothing!"...and then somehow the miracle would happen.

This has been the same, every single week I would look at the theme and say" I've got nothing! I can't do it!" and then the download would begin.

Having said that, just as it was a song title that I saw on @davidfar 's blog that inspired my entry for "Because We Can"/ Week 4, this week it was @basilmarples and his moving performance for "Wind Swept Shore"/Week 5.

But if you are reading this, it is for you to...Peace

Until We Meet Again

Here's one song
To help you along
And keep you my friend
Til' we meet again
But you don't need
To learn it from me
Cause you already know
The word

One song
Is all that I've sung
We may not be near
But I will be here
When you need
To call out to me
You already know
The word

Til' we meet again
We've come to the end
Of

One song
Not very long
A moment to sing
Our own melody
And we'll be
In good harmony
Cause we already know
The word

Love

Sort:  

very nice.... congratulations..

Your voice sounds great man and I love your songs.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Hey man thanks...I had tried the day before but couldn't make it through. So the next morning I got up and pounded water for like 6 hours which must have done the trick because now the voice is gone again!
thank you so much for everything
Peace

Nice onetruebrother! Not sure why but it reminds me of sweet baby james.

Ha! Thanks sometimes people say I sound like James Taylor when I sing in his range.
Maybe down the road I will cover one of his songs for the openmic, thanks for the idea
Peace

Unbelievable @onetruebrother this is mesmerizing, your voice has such character :) , the whole composition fits so well, that D string and that beautiful picking man... coming in with that short and soft phrases that resonate just right with that soft reverb in the background.. lyrics are amazing and synced perfectly with the rhythm of the song, I gotta tell you man you are one of the few on OpenMic that truly resonates, you are obviously a kind and open soul,

Here I am at around 10'th time replaying the song, has that Neil Young touch to it, but nevertheless absolutely eclectic, I am wondering what mic and reverb did you use?

p.s. you should publish this just as it is, in a raw form ✌ keep it up

Hey there thanks for your kind words...

I am using a little unit from Zoom called the R8, it is sort of an all-in-one thing that I have had for a long time, but really I only use it as a soundcard and for its two small stereo condenser mics. I have found in the past that I lose all of my will to do music if I have to try to "produce", engineer, and record at the same time. So with this I just set it on the desk in front of me and record in stereo. I have decided that a good song/performance is more important than great sound quality (not that I obtain either of those!)...you know like when you hear a shitty recording from a 4-track cassette but the song and performance rock?
Someone gave me an old ipad a few months ago and I have Cubasis on there....on this song it is just the reverb from one of the expansion packs that I use just a wee bit of. I like the ipad because in the past I have got RSI from using a mouse to do music in software like Reason. I love the touchscreen !
Peace

R8 really captures your sound perfectly, now when you say that its stereo mic's it has more sense why it is so clear, eq-ing either by default or by your choice is perfect as all frequencies from both your voice and guitar are spot on, oh yeah and don't be too modest 😉 that you don't obtain the good song or a performance, this is absolutely not true, I am a person and a musician/producer who is well versed and introduced to all genres since I was a kid, and for this song specific I can tell you if the times were back some 40 years this would be considered evergreen by now, it just has that compactness where all sits in it's place and it doesn't bother the brain to listen it many times over, it is a great song @onetruebrother with immaculate performance and meaningful lyrics, record it and release, for people like me that respect it's beauty, please link me if you have some recordings in general, peace ✌

I am such a fan of you. Qualtiy top songs every single week you just blow me away!

Thanks Bonnie...I have to admit, I was feeling a different vibe this weekend until I realized that I wasn't trying to finish and record a new song that I barely knew!
Thank you for all of your positive feedback and encouragement it really inspired me to make it through.
Peace

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59316.00
ETH 2518.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43