Steemit Openmic Songwriters Challenge-Week4-Because We Can-(Original Song)

in #openmic7 years ago

Just before checking my feed and seeing this week's theme of "Because We Can", I had been looking at @davidfar 's page and scrolling through some of his posts.
The chorus of this song came very quickly, and it occurred to me that it had something to do with the title of a song @davidfar has called "No Land Left For Us", which I think stuck in my subconscious.
I happen to have had a friend in school from Iran whose family had been closely affected during the revolution in 1979. Also my very close friend for a number of years was from Liberia and he too had experienced men with guns coming to his home during the coup in 1980. Again his family had just barely been spared. I had a roommate whose family came from Armenia and he used to talk about the genocide there. And of course there is Palestine... On and on it goes. I guess all of these things relate here.

May peace prevail on Earth.

We Must Go On

We could have been right
Not left ourselves
On the side
Of a wall
That divides
What can only be one
It's too high
For us all

Because we
Can still be free
Of all
That's been done
And is gone
We must go on
To the light

I could have been there
And you may be standing
Right where
I now am
Would it be fair
To say that the land
Is to share
Take this hand

Because we
Can still be free
Of all
That's been done
And is gone
We must go on
To the light

Sort:  

Congratulations @onetruebrother! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

you always come through so clean and strong. I love the sound you give us. great original song yet again im always impressed

Thanks Bonnie Happy Holidays!

I really love this! great song sir..

Thank you very much. I send love to you, I know you are missing your family...peace

Great job man!
You are definitely one of my favorites.
"We must go on to the light"
Love this line, it says so much

Thanks man I just enjoyed listening to your track...I never played with a looping pedal looks cool. Funny I had a similar idea that perhaps most would write something positive this week. Although my song is ultimately positive , I kept balling my eyes out when playing the chorus. I wonder if like me, you have many times wept for the earth. peace bro

I do, as I also cry for all the creatures that exists on the Earth. It is the ego that's made humans believe we're above and separate from nature. It turns my love for humanity into hate.

I haven't made it to hate, but definitely cynicism and disappointment

I hope you don't get there, although I'm pretty sure it's just in my nature to get there sooner than a others, buteven still I hold on to a shred of hope. Thing is the worst that could happen is we go away and our mother heals and I'm fine with that.

All things must pass

Thank you sir. Freezing my butt off here up north...you are probably sunbathing right now...

bravo! :) another great performance mister!! really great lyrics for this weeks theme!

Thanks Katherine, I guess we both made it half way! It seems like you are having the same experience as I am; somehow the ideas come...such a blessing!

Good stuff brother maybe peace has a chance

Gracias thanks for checking me out...there is always hope. Time will tell...peace

Really enjoy your playing :) Great entry 👍🏻

lovely entry man. This one is packed with feeling. The chorus is particularly lovely x kind of makes me feel brave

Thank you sir, I am going to try to take a break from the power ballad next week...but these things have a mind of their own! Much respect to you for taking on this challenge, not easy huh?

no sir. not easy. But thankfully the songs keep coming. They find a way through even when you feel like giving up sometimes!

A thoroughly moving song, to me it also speaks of reconciliation. I had the imagery of our (Australian) aboriginal people as well as your Native American people and all we did to them. We are also sharing the land with them!

Thanks I am glad you like it. Having to post these songs so quickly after writing them feels somewhat vulnerable because they are so new to me that I am still trying to work out how to sing/play them. On the other hand it is good because there is really no time to analyze whether they are any "good"...
Thanks for stopping by, you give me encouragement to keep going...peace

Yeah, I said it before, I believe in this songwriters challenge all we can really do is present songs that are works in progress, nothing I enter is actually finished and would definitely need some polishing and rehearsals.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60497.39
ETH 2637.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56