Steemit Openmic Songwriters Challenge-Week 3-Stolen SoulssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic7 years ago

When I first saw the theme of Stolen Souls, I did my usual "what the hell am I going to do with that?" routine. Then 30 minutes later I somehow had two verses written down.
I had an idea for the song musically that I had found in the days since uploading my last song but couldn't make it fit. Were those verses or choruses I had written? Blocked, I was going to stop for the day in hopes of figuring something out tomorrow (Thursday), and as soon as I stepped away I heard the chorus in my head and that was it...

Sometimes it takes a while after a song is written for me to really get what it is about. This one I have a clear vision right way. I did write something about it, but instead of posting it I think it is better to let the listener take from it what they will.

Peace

Stolen Souls

Look at you now
Baby what have you done
Trying to sound
Like you and I are one
You bring me down
With every chord you strum

You'll never get it

Can't steal my soul
Cause I don't have it
I don't really know
Just how it happens
And the piece that shows
Is not what matters anyway
In the end we're all the same

You took my song
But that was all you got
You played me wrong
And made the music stop
You want it all
Here's something you forgot

You'll never get it

Chorus

Sort:  

Yeah! another great song man! love the drop tuned guitar with the melody , you've got some awesome writing skills. Thanks for sharing!

Hey thanks for checking me out...after I wrote this one I wondered if it was going to sound too pop or too dated. I appreciate the positive feedback.

Oh man I really dig this Melody. Great job man :) beautiful song!

Thanks man, I had to play this continuously for a day and a half before recording it so it is stuck in my head now!

Nicely put together song!

Congratulations @onetruebrother! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

YEAH! That chorus is bloody greeat! very satisfying :)

Gracias man, sometimes that pop influence from my childhood comes out. Can't keep it out of my head!

I missed this one :)
how many chords changing and riffs and ... really loved the changes in the guitar, and your perfect vocal on it is really great brother!! \m/ Rock on!
peace!

Thank you. I keep telling myself that I want to keep it simple so that it isn't so hard to perform, but somehow this one just went where it wanted to go I guess...peace

Outstanding entry, brother! PS... don't forget to drop your link on the Songwriters page so everyone else can pick it up - and again on Sunday for week 63... Keep on rockin' it, bro!
https://steemit.com/openmic/@luzcypher/open-mic-songwriters-challenge-week-3-stolen-soul?sort=new#comments

Dude thanks so much for the reminder I totally spaced on placing that link!

Oooo super catchy vocals off the top man! Bedy good!

great chorus lyrics too: Can't steal my soul
Cause I don't have it
I don't really know
Just how it happens

Man a lot of the entries this week nailed this theme. I had so much trouble coming up with anything good lol.

Yeah this whole challenge sort of accelerates everything for me so that there isn't time to second guess; as soon as I have an idea I just go for it. When it's recorded I try to stop thinking about it because I will be way too self-critical and won't want to post it! Those four lines you wrote there...I was wondering if people were going to get my meaning or think i was just going for the rhyme. Thanks for the kind words.
I always enjoy your songs, whether solo or as part of the Steembirds

this is a really great composición, as a musician i give you my upvote!

Pretty awesome brother

Thanks man, sorry about you losing your dog, I am still mourning my girl who left us two years ago...but congrats on the new pup! I have said before that it is hard to make another person happy due to the nature of the human psychology, but we absolutely have the power to give a dog a great life! Peace to you

You're welcome
Yes we certainly do and they return the love 10 fold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62952.72
ETH 2429.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56