Steemit Open Mic Week 55-Original Song-Home of the Free

in #openmic7 years ago

Here is one that I wrote and never played for anyone until quite recently. I remembered it while visiting two friends and they seemed to like it so... This is one of the few songs that I can remember exactly when I wrote it. It was 2003 right after the US invasion of Iraq. I have never had an idea for a song; these just come out of nowhere for me and usually I don't know what they are about until the song is done or at least partially written. Anyway this one for me was like a premonition because a few days after I wrote it the Abu Ghraib prison abuse scandal happened.
Anyway thanks for listening and I promise my next entry will be from the lighter side of life! Peace

Home of the Free
How can it be
Your people in shame
I've seen the signs
You're losing your mind
There's no time
You're out of the game

And the cost
Of the loss
Everything
And of God
All you want
To kill in the name

Land of the brave
You've been enslaved
By what you can't see
Your faith is blind
Your hands have been tied
Open your eyes
You live in a dream

All your life
You've been right
Or so you think
And if not
Tell us what
You were led to believe

Sort:  

This tune reminds me a lot of Tom Petty's song writing style, very nice....if you were ever to get it recorded/produced it my mind that would be the right approach. Much success to you brother

Thanks...it's funny at the time I felt like no one would want to hear it so it was just a throw away tune and I forgot about it until now. thanks for the feedback. hasta

Initially, I was gettin' "learnin' to fly" by Tom Petty... And then "your song" took hold. The land of the once free, amid the home of the enslaved... How sad but true... Nice one, true brother!

I never realized the similarity! Alas the 4 chord song is hard to make totally new...I think this is where doing a "studio" multitrack version would make all the difference. Thanks

The initial similarity is rather apparent, however, thereafter, you got your own DNA all over it... Yeah, there's only so many ways to recreate the wheel... And this particular circle that you've created is quite nice regardless of any influences. After all, everything is influenced by everything else under the Sun, right?

Yup I agree for sure. peace

you have a beautiful voice , Loved it , things I always love to sing about, and it's great that you know and talk about the truth in your music! \m/ Rock On Brother!!

Hey thanks...yeah I did an intro post but I tagged it as "introduction" before I knew better. peace

A lot of truth in this song and a lot of people in this country should really listen to this. Great job man.

Thank you ! I was a little hesitant to play this as I am not really a political person and didn't want to "trigger" anyone...but I decided when I came here to steemit that I was going to try to be authentic, put my cards on the table, and let the chips fall where they may. Thanks for listening all the best

That's the best way to be.

great lyrics, wonderful moving performance great job

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60787.40
ETH 2994.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82