Steemit open Mic WEek 49: Air on G String-Johann Sebastian Bach BWV 1068

in #openmic7 years ago

This piece is the second movement of J.S. Bach's 3rd orchestral suite in D major. The movement is an Air (Aria in Italian) which is famously referred to as "Air on a G String," because of German violinist August Wilhelmj's (1845–1908) arrangement where the first violin is transposed an octave lower and performed entirely on the instruments G string. It's absolutely one of my favorite pieces. The transcription I'm playing from is from A. Franzi. If you know the original score, or Wilhelmj's score you may notice some octave changes in the counterpoint, but I think the general feeling of the song translates well to the guitar with this arrangement.

Sort:  

👏👏👏👏👏 Encore maestro! Bloody hell man, why do you keep choking me up with your playing. Another stunning performance. I am sure others will put it better than me (e.g. @passion-ground ) but just know that they will not have enjoyed it any more than I did.

Don't know that I could say it much better than you did here, Geoff! I'm certain that I enjoyed this every bit as much as you did! Bravo Sir Oliver - BRAVO!

PS
Oliver, I always enjoy your succinct and elegant descriptions of the pieces that you play - it just makes the whole experience that much more enjoyable!

Awesome, thanks! That's actually good to know, cause I'm never sure if I'm just wasting time.

Let me second @passion-ground on this one. I like reading about the history of the arrangements and the song. Cheers

Thanks man! haha, that's what it's about!

I always look forward to hearing your beautiful playing @oliverwaterman . You are certainly raising the bar with your choices :) Lovely phrasing and movement while keeping things authentic to Bach's wishes. Tough stuff and you make it look so easy :)

NOTE: Be sure to put 'classical' 'classicalmusic' in your tags so it can get picked up by the classical music lovers here in steemit.

Following and looking forward to much more
Cheers,
Bucky

Thanks, good to hear! I do like to put it up there sometimes, but it's hard to justify sometimes due to the amount of money that's available there. Some of it has been getting shared in the classical-music Page that always does though. I'm not sure whether it's better to share in the classical tags for posterity or the higher valued tags for prosperity... I'd love your thoughts on the issue.

Always look forward to hearing you play every week

GREAT..

Oliver, you are an awesome musician. I am taking my time writing as I listen to you play. very beautiful....thanks for sharing this with us all.

Beautiful.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

From the first few plucks you put me in a blissful place. I love the sedate strolling pace of the lower melody line. Your tone is phenomenal. What an elegantly beautiful tune.

Great playing Brother!

This is one my favourite pieces. By the way I did not cope the sentence from your description but while I was writing this comment I realised that I wrote the same thing.
Beautiful performance!
Please if you don't mind, listen to my composition for this week's open mic.

hahaha, I hear that! thanks!

very nice played ! following you now ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 67807.13
ETH 3791.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72