You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Open Mic Week 67 - "Cold Sheets" Emotional Rap (2 Verses)

in #openmic6 years ago

Mostly 2pac. He's to rap what Calvin and Hobbes was to comics for me: I discovered what I liked best first and nothing could really amaze me anymore. Also found a very cool playlist on Deezer yesterday: Hip Hop meets soul: http://www.deezer.com/us/playlist/3033941182 (deezer is free btw and I prefer it over spotify because of the "flow", a stream personalized to you). I was looking for that remix album of B.I.G. and Frank Sinatra which I had listened to a few years ago.

Sort:  

Yea, Tupac was a huge influence on me when I first started out. He had already passed away, but my older brother and sister listened to him all the time. We are originally from California, so we were ALL about some Tupac. I never really got into B.I.G tbh. His flow was dope, no question, but Tupac had the content on lock. He really went in on real topics and poured his soul into his music, you know?

I almost used the word "content" too. I remember in this one interview he talks about how journalism helped end the war in Vietnam because the public saw the cruelty, and he wanted to do the same with poverty. In that regard I never came across another rapper who could rival him.

Damn right. That's the exact reason I respected him more than basically everyone else around. He talked about life, real life. All facets of it. I dig that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61674.06
ETH 3067.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81