Steemit Openmic Week 57: The Spritely Maiden (Original Song)

in #openmic7 years ago

Hey people, excited to give the openmic a go for the first time, and looking forward to checking the other entries.

A little acoustic instrumental piece on guitar with a Irish feel.

Hope you like.

Cheers!

Nate.

Sort:  

I love this so much!! Who knew you could make all those sounds out of a guitar!! amazing

Thanks @tiredmama! I found a great book on interesting sound effects - some guy had the guitar sounding like a banjo by weaving a paper clip through the strings!

Oh wow! i bet that would take some tuning in!! I love the whole concept of musical instruments and what those people were thinking when they hollowed out bit of wood and attached some strings. or bend some metal around to make a certain pitch and sound!! truly amazing, I only wish I was more musically inclined. thankfully I have people like you to fill that void!!

I agree! Saw an amazing video of a guy whacking piping with flip flops. Fantastic sound:

I highly recommend you trying any instrument just for fun. Doesn't have to be complicated. I think some of the best melodies are the really simple ones!

Nice open tuning and tone.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Hey thanks a lot for the opportunity luzcypher! Exciting to be part of it, and to check out the other amazing entries. Hoping to do one a week and kick my lazy butt into gear! ;)

Congratulations @nateb! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great, thanks!

Cool guitar work, Nate! Made me feel a bit Irish indeed... :-)

Cheers passion-ground! Here's to a pint of Guinness!

Excellent work! Your use of alternate tuning really makes this tune sing. Really very enjoyable. I look forward to hearing more of your work, sir!

Thanks thomhoglen. It's in standard tuning - I did consider dropping it all down a tone but it got a bit muddy! Cheers.

Wow! I really thought it was DADGAD, or something similar. Now, I'm even more impressed!

Ha, thanks! Yeah it's got open note drones on the E and the A strings, gives it a bit of that flavour!

WOW! what an amazing acoustic solo performance sir, you must be an acoustic guitar master. How I wish I can play guitar as good as you.. I have my entry too sir but a piece of song you may check it.

Thanks for the kind words g10a. I wish I was an acoustic master! I'm in awe of loads of players on Youtube. I will check your song entry. Cheers.

Wow, quick fingers! That’s impressive 👌🏻

Ha! Thanks kjablonski - It's from autopilot noodling with guitar in hand when binge watching tv shows :)

Perhaps I need to take that approach! Could use some practice and that sounds like a good way to get it in

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60482.94
ETH 2613.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63