Steemit Open Mic Week -71 REDEMPTION SONG BY BOB MARLEY ( Cover)

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Hello guys am back again to have fun as usual it's getting really difficult and competitive each passing week..... I mean the numbers are steady rocketing and that's not all the plethora of singers with amazing and awesome voices just keeps me on my toes.
So last week I was down with the flu and I could barely sing but well I guess i feel better now, so I decided to switch up the genre to something much not conventional 😀 Folk music!! and in that category, i decided to pick the classic REDEMPTION SONG from great BOB NESTER MARLEY 😘😘😘😘😘😘😘😘, several artistes have gone on to do covers and refix of this very song each with their own interpretation of this Enchanting piece ,well for me this is a song that is quite personal to me, seeing i am from NIGERIA ,AFRICA where the government of the day cares less about the sufferings and well being of the masses, there's poverty and poor education worse off all the standard of living is deplorable, but that's not all, a lot of the populace is living in a prison of their minds so this song comes to mind almost every-day when i jump a bus to work and see the children and mothers on the street begging, this song comes to mind when i am in a car and am stopped by the police and instead of checking the regular documents of the car he's asking for bribe to let me pass without delay @langford can testify to this. It's saddening and pitiable indeed, Nigeria needs redemption and it sure would Come in no distant time. For the now all people like us can do is write and cause an awareness with our music.

Enjoy this piece

If you do like it don't forget to resteem,comment and off course upvote ,😀😀😀a brother can do something nice with the SBDS. 😘

For easy sing alongs lyrics below

Redemption Song
Bob Marley
LYRICS
Old pirates, yes, they rob I
Sold I to the merchant ships
Minutes after they took I
From the bottomless pit
But my hand was made strong
By the hand of the Almighty
We forward in this generation
Triumphantly
Won't you help to sing
These songs of freedom?
'Cause all I ever have
Redemption songs
Redemption songs
Emancipate yourselves from mental slavery
None but ourselves can free our minds
Have no fear for atomic energy
'Cause none of them can stop the time
How long shall they kill our prophets
While we stand aside and look? Ooh
Some say it's just a part of it
We've got to fulfill the Book
Won't you help to sing
These songs of freedom?
'Cause all I ever have
Redemption songs
Redemption songs
Redemption songs
Emancipate yourselves from mental slavery
None but ourselves can free our minds
Wo! Have no fear for atomic energy
'Cause none of them-a can-a stop-a the time
How long shall they kill our prophets
While we stand aside and look?
Yes, some say it's just a part of it
We've got to fulfill the book
Won't you have to sing
These songs of freedom?
'Cause all I ever had
Redemption songs
All I ever had
Redemption songs
These songs of freedom
Songs of freedom
Songwriters: Bob Marley
Redemption Song lyrics © Sony/ATV Music Publishing LLC, Kobalt Music Publishing Ltd.

Sort:  

Great cover, man.. - awesome vocal performance, bro!

Bless up bro, I try to challenge myself week in week out.

I felt it in the bones, really redeeming.

Bro the lyrics of this piece is self redeeming 😂😅😘

You have an amazing voice!! I love this classic Marley song. I was singing along the entire time :)

I am honoured bruh.

Hey @mrprecious,
This was an extremely well done cover song, great performance, one of the best this week.
I have mentioned you in my top judging list for week 71, please be sure to read the full review of everyone here.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@verbal-d/steemit-s-official-open-mic-judge-verbal-d-s-top-5-entries-for-week-71-original-blog

God bless you sir your encouragement and push is appreciated.

God bless you too

Great cover and performance.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Wow, it's like the server is bad or slow @luzcypher because it took you two days to see my entry.

@mrprecious back in the house with them pipes that melt the inside! love your voice

@soundlegion o dear ama try my hands on your materials someday i have been looking you up on youtube and musiccoin.i gat nothing but love for you .muah

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64535.04
ETH 3462.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49