Steemit Open Mic Week 48 - Song to the Moon (cover)

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

For this week, I'm singing an aria from Dvorak's opera, Rusalka. It's basically the Little Mermaid story.


Believe it or not, the Little Mermaid is actually a Czech folk story, and Antonin Dvorak decide to write an opera based on it.


This aria, called "Song to the Moon," or "Mesichku" in Czech, is where the main character, a water nymph named Rusalka, falls in love with a prince who she see from her lake when he stops to rest while out hunting in the forest. She tells the moon of her love for him, and at the end of the aria, decides she will go to the witch Jezibaba to make her human so she can be with him.


Lyrics


O moon high up in the deep, deep sky,

Your light sees far away regions,

You travel round the wide,

Wide world peering into human dwellings

O, moon, stand still for a moment,

Tell me, ah, tell me where is my lover!

If he is dreaming about me,

May this remembrance waken him!

O, moon, don't disappear, disappear!



Thanks to @luzcypher and @pfunk for heading up the #Openmic contest.

Click to read more about joining Steemit Open Mic


If you enjoyed this post, please upvote, follow and resteem. I post about everything music, nature, and sometimes cats.

Sort:  

What a lovely voice you have.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Thank you! :)

Beautiful as always morodiene! I really like the story behind the lyrics on this one too :)

Aww, you're sweet!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by morodiene from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Simply beautiful thank you for sharing you voice with the world

It was my pleasure, I assure you! :D

Wow, absolutely beautiful. Thanks for sharing!

Thank you for listening! This is one of my favorite arias. I think it has universal appeal no matter what you're used to listening to. :)

I like how you appear from an interdimensional portal in the first second of the video and as always you sing with a beautiful voice :)

Haha, how did I manage that? I even amaze myself sometimes LOL. Thanks for listening :D

Loooove your voice babe!

Thanks for listening! :)

Simply the voice of an angel. Beautiful!

Aww, thank you for listening, @yogjoshi!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57959.67
ETH 2343.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44