Steemit Open MIc Week 45: True Love Waits - Radiohead (Cover)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

There are a lot of firsts in this video.

  • The first time I've played piano to an audience
  • The first time I've sung solo to an audience (or ever, if you ignore choir in University)
  • The first time I've played piano and sung at the same time (Piano isn't my main instrument by any means)
  • The first time I've sung to people without editing my voice in any way. Raw and naked

I used to perform on Guitar in a band and during University, and I hated it. I only ever performed because I had to, or because I was pressured to. After I gave up caring what people think whether or not I do something, I stopped.

The only two performances since 2007 was in 2016 for a fun event, and in 2017 on the drums (despite not being a drummer at all) for a Christmas Concert. We did the Pogues 'Fairytale of New York'.

The point is, this is as raw and exposed as I've ever really been, and I suppose this wobbly, weak voice and boring video is my gift to those watching, you're the first ever to witness it.

Lyrics

I’ll drown my beliefs
To have your babies
I’ll dress like your niece
And wash your swollen feet

Just don’t leave
Don’t leave

I’m not living
I’m just killing (wasting) time
Your tiny hands
Your crazy kitten smile

Just don’t leave
Don’t leave

And true love waits
In haunted attics
And true love lives (waits)
On lollipops and crisps

Just don’t leave
Don’t leave

Link to the contest below! Please upvote if you enjoyed it.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@luzcypher/steemit-open-mic-week-45-record-your-performance-on-your-phone-enter-and-win-steem-sponsored-by-pfunk-and-luzcypher

Sort:  

Thanks for telling us that the piano was down there we would've never guessed its a piano you're playing!

Nice cover mate!

=P

Wouldn't want people thinking I pre-recorded it!

EDIT - PS: Enjoy your reward =P

@mobbs I love your voice. All I have to say.

Thanks! blush

It's very amateur but as long as the song doesn't do anything extreme I can at least hit the notes...

i like this music.....

Yes @mobbs! Keep it up man, it gets easier :)

I think it already is! Without the actual eyes staring at me as I play, it's not so bad ^__^

Hmmm. Gets better from a bit in - like the gravelly sound

like the tshirt too ;)

The gravelly bits were not deliberate, I assure you

Wow your piano was beautiful. I liked the way you sung the lines just don't leave ,don't leave , I'm not living I'm just wasting time . I hope you do some more covers !

Maybe bi-weekly? ^__^

Thanks =D

One of my favourite radiohead songs.

Ahh lovely, id be well too nervous to do that! Well done! ... Loved the confused glance at the end too haha :D :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 69516.92
ETH 3835.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72