Steemit Open Mic Week 95 | Partita in A minor for flute by J. S Bach. II Mov.

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Greetings Dear Curators


This time I come to bring my participation in the Steemit OpenMic week 95. I want to thank @pfunk, @curie, @luzcypher, @meno and all the people who make this wonderful contest possible.

The last time I played this piece, it was before my injury. It was December of 2016, at that time I was preparing for an audition of the National Orchestra of Venezuela, for the final tests of the university and at the same time I was looking for my sustenance by playing in the depths of the Caracas Subway system. They were days of 10 and up to 12 hours with my instrument —that was the reason for my injury — but the pressure to want to have a decent job, to fulfill my tests and have the money to buy something for Christmas, was enough to get me launched those musical marathons for nothing healthy.

As I said in a previous opportunity, The Partita in A minor by Bach, is one of the most requested pieces at the time of auditions anywhere in the world; it's interpretive complexity adds to the technical challenges (audible in the movement that I share today) that it presents. Very wide intervals, speed and an uncomfortable articulation, are some of the challenges to be overcome in order to play this beautiful piece correctly.

It was in the basements of the emblematic Teresa Carreño theater in Caracas where those auditions were held. It was a terrible day for me, the public transport shone by its absence, I arrived just 15 minutes before the draw to know the order in which we would pass the 15 people who competed for the same job. Bad luck was on my side next to the number 2 that marked the paper I had chosen. I had to quickly enter the room where the jury was, only 15 minutes of warm-up was not enough for such a big challenge. I did not feel comfortable, much less confident.

Upon entering the room, a large wooden panel with wheels covered my identity. The familiar voice of the first flute of the orchestra welcomed me, and asked me to start playing the Corrante of the Bach Partita (the second movement that I will play for you today).

I miss played, and a lot! about 2 times to be exact. It may sound a little exaggerated, but miss a note in the world of academic music is death, a single stumble is enough to get you out of any competition. I had 2. They did not let me finish playing the whole movement.


 
A couple of weeks after that experience, the flute stopped sounding completely. That's a story for another publication, but I want to mention that, i was not able to play even the simpliest note in the flute. I have been struggling for 2 years to recover, and thank God I have received the support of wonderful people who have made my progress possible.

Being able to play this music again at an acceptable quality is an experience of strong emotions for me. It's like going back in time -the power I dreamed of during these 2 years- and going back to where I started before the injury. I feel that I have advanced, that I have overcome many obstacles that have cost me enormous amounts of time making faces with my mouth in front of the mirror, on public transport and even at family dinners. This video means a lot to me, I'm not just me playing and experimenting with audio editing, this video is proof of my progress, of my slow but sure rehabilitation of my voice, of my way of expressing what I have to say to the world.

There is still a long way to go, I depend a lot on the amount and speed of air, the sharp register is not polished, the articulation is weak because the more incisive it demands the lips, anyway ... The important thing is the advance, important is that I'm already making music again.

If you liked the result, thank the wonderful rehabilitation team and the doctor who accompanied me during these torturous 2 years. I do it every day of my life.


 

 

 


Saludos, Estimados Curadores


En esta oportunidad vengo a traerles mi participacion en el Steemit OpenMic semana 95. Quiero agradecer a @pfunk, @curie, @luzcypher, @meno y a todas las personas que hacen posible este maravilloso concurso.

 
La última vez que toqué esta obra, fue antes de mi lesión. Corría diciembre del año 2016, para ese entonces me preparaba para una audición de la Orquesta Nacional de Venezuela, para los exámenes finales del semestre y al mismo tiempo buscaba mi sustento tocando en las profundidades del sistema del metro de Caracas. Eran jornadas de 10 y hasta 12 horas con el instrumento —esa fue la razón de mi lesión—, pero la presión por querer tener un trabajo digno, cumplir con mis asignaturas y tener el dinero para comprar algo para navidad, fue suficiente para lograr lanzarme esos maratones musicales para nada sanos.

Como les dije en una anterior oportunidad, La Partita en A menor, es una de las obras más solicitadas al momento de realizar audiciones en cualquier parte del mundo; su complejidad interpretativa se suma a los retos técnicos (audibles en el movimiento que les comparto hoy) que presenta. Intérvalos muy amplios, velocidad y una articulación incómoda, son algunos de los retos a superar para poder tocar correctamente esta hermosa pieza.


Fue en los sótanos del emblemático teatro Teresa Carreño de Caracas donde se realizaron esas audiciones. Fue una jornada terrible para mí, el transporte público brillaba por su ausencia, llegué tan solo 15 minutos antes del sorteo para saber el orden en el que pasaríamos las 15 personas que competíamos por el mismo puesto de trabajo. La mala suerte estaba de mi lado junto al número 2 que marcaba el papel que había elegido. Tuve que entrar rápidamente a la sala donde estaba el jurado, tan solo 15 minutos de calentamiento no era suficiente para un reto tan grande. No me sentía cómodo ni mucho menos confiado.

Al entrar en la sala, un gran panel de madera con ruedas cubría mi identidad. La voz familiar de la primera flauta de la orquesta me dió la bienvenida, y me pidió que empezara tocando el Corrante de la Partita de Bach (el segundo movimiento que tocaré para ustedes hoy).

Me equivoqué, ¡y mucho! unas 2 veces para ser exactos. Les podrá sonar algo exagerado, pero equivocarse en el mundo de la música académica, es la muerte, un solo traspié es suficiente para sacarte de cualquier competencia. Yo tuve 2. No me dejaron terminar de tocar el movimiento completo.


 

 
Un par de semanas luego de esa experiencia, la flauta dejó de sonarme por completo. Eso es cuento para otra publicación, pero quiero mencionar eso, la flauta no sonaba NADA. Tengo 2 años luchando por recuperarme, y gracias a Dios he recibido el apoyo de personas maravillosas que han hecho posible mis avances.

Poder tocar de nuevo esta música a una calidad aceptable, es una experiencia de emociones muy fuertes para mí. Es como retroceder el tiempo —poder con el que soñé durante estos 2 años— y volver estar donde empecé antes de la lesión. Siento que he avanzado, que he vencido muchos obstáculos que me han costado enormes cantidades de tiempo haciendo muecas con la boca frente al espejo, en el transporte público y hasta en cenas familiares. Este video significa mucho para mí, no soy solo yo tocando y experimentando con la edición del audio, este video es la prueba de mis avances, de mi lenta pero segura rehabilitación de mi voz, de mi manera de expresar lo que tengo que decir ante el mundo.

Aún hay mucho camino por recorrer, dependo mucho de la cantidad y velocidad de aire, el registro agudo no esta pulido, la articulación es débil porque mientras más incisiva más exige a los labios, en fin... Lo importante es el avance, lo importante es que ya estoy haciendo música otra vez.

Si les ha gustado el resultado, agradézcanle enormemente al maravilloso equipo de rehabilitación y a la doctora que me han acompañado durante estos tortuosos 2 años. Yo lo hago todos los días de mi vida.


 



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://miguelvargas.org/musica/partita-en-a-menor-de-bach-para-flauta-sola-ii-movimiento/

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by miguelvargas from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Resteemed, your post will appear in the next curation with a SBD share for you!


Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community on Steemit as it appears to be of interest to our community.

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.

The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord.
Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio.
Follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto or help us out with a delegation!

Este Post ha sido votado por delega, un pool de SP patrocinado por: @betamusic y @nnnarvaez para apoyar tu crecimiento y el contenido de calidad.



Un proyecto del Witness: @castellano (si quieres formar parte, contactales)

Saludos Miguel tu historia es inspiradora, eres prueba de que es posible renacer pues con empeño y apoyo todo se puede.

Yo trabaje en el Metro de Caracas y llegue a ver muchos talentos que insistian que por ningún motivo estaban mendigando, todo lo contrario expresaban su arte, efectivamente es así y tu eres ejemplo para muchos.

Sigue adelante que tienes ganado el cielo con tu música.

Muchas gracias por tus palabras @vanessapinedos, sirven mucho para motivarme a seguir avanzando. Y pues si, cuando yo tocaba habían varios compañeros que también se ganaban la vida bajo tierra. Fueron tiempos difíciles, pero tener el calor de la gente apoyándote era algo muy reconfortante.

Este articulo fue seleccionado por el equipo de @bebeth

Hola @miguelvargas, ¡Gracias por este contenido de Calidad!

Recibe nuestro Sello de Genialidad, asi como nuestro voto y el de nuestra patrocinadora @beanz en reconocimiento.

Afrodita-A Tecnologia de optimizacion de VP y Votos desarrollada por @nnnarvaez

No sabía que podía haber lesiones en el ámbito musical, me intriga. Me gustó mucho tu música, me relajo un poco la mañana, saludos y éxitos en el concurso!

Así es @julioccorderoc, y de muchísimos tipos. Nosotros nos sometemos a presiones enormes comparables a la de deportistas de alto rendimiento, con la diferencia de que ellos se preparan físicamente y nosotros somos una cuerda de flojos en su mayoría jajaja. Por eso el 61% de los músicos profesionales en el planeta tierra han tenido alguna lesión en algún momento de sus carreras.

Dios te bendiga hermano! Felicidades! Que bendición que estes haciendo música y tocando Bach de nuevo. Un abrazo!

Así es, es toda una bendición eso. Muchas gracias por escucharme y por tus buenos deseos @mayneth!

Thx @passion-group. Is an honor see you in the comment box of my entry.

Congratulations @miguelvargas! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64928.52
ETH 3525.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36