Steemit Open Mic Week 75 - Original Song "San Francisco Girl"

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Very excited to be sharing this song with everybody this week. This tune is the opening song from my debut CD, Plain Jane. "San Francisco Girl" was written during a road trip I took just after I graduated from college. Some pals and I headed west from Michigan and drove all over the country, camping out and staying with friends along the way. We hooked up with a fellow Michigan State University alum who was a filmmaker in San Francisco. We stayed in the city for several days and nights exploring all the colorful, crazy neighborhoods that called the city home before the waves of gentrification that came with the excesses of the digital economy. In the early 1990s the City By the Bay looked a lot more like the birthplace of the hippies and the site of the poetry revolution embodied at City Lights Bookstore. Nowadays this song reads more like the remembrance of a place than a love song for a woman.

Lyrics -

You wear your make-up like Hemingway
You're a minimalist in every sense
You talk about yourself in third-person
Your future in present-tense
And your soft summer dresses hang so loose
But they don't hide your shape
You walk like a swan down on the pier
You're a swan among the apes
And the fishmonger's sons all call your name
You don't hear them through your curls
You're my beaded and baubled and beautiful baby
My San Fransisco Girl

You've read all your Jean-Paul Sartre
Your Kafka and your Camus
You're a philosopher in dungarees
And your a poet in plastic shoes
You carry your purse like a Catholic curse
Your bag it drags you down
It's filled with all the garbage and the trinkets and the junk
You need to get by in this town
And graffiti boys they paint your face
You don't see them through your curls
You're my tripped-out, flipped-out, drug-tongued baby
My San Francisco Girl

Your voice soft like the morning fog
Your laugh like a big brass band
You got seven silk scarves wrapped around your wrist
And velvet gloves on both your hands
You got a Spanish belt made of Cuban leather And a holster on your hip
You got Italian glasses made in Taiwan
To match your painted lips
And your face is sculpted in a block of salt
Behind your sticky, cherry curls
You're my lovely, lonely one and only
My San Francisco Girl

Black tights on white dancer's legs
Bone bracelets on your wrists
I love to watch your wooden toes
I love to see them twist
You got red roses landing at your feet
Tears in your sweet eyes
And your French perfume, just like a flower blooms
Whenever you walk by
Red ribbon streamers in your hair
Twistin' through your curls
Your my ballerina, my signorina
My San Francisco Girl

You can find all of my releases online at the usual places, but I'm also slowly getting everything uploaded to DSound. You can check out my second album, King there.

Sort:  

Congratulations, my firend i like so much your song and the style too

Thank you for your kind words about my music!

That's Very Amazing Sound!
Keep It Up! 🎵🎵🎵

Thank you for listening!

Wow !!! best ,so creative
i like it
me from indonesia

Haha thanks! I wish I could try more Indonesian foods in Tennessee. I hear it's the best?

You must go to indonesia, and you can eat all indonesian food, original,hahahaha
@mightyjoenolan

Hey! Fellow Tennessean! You got it going on, mister!! Kinda like Bob Dylan meets Shawn Mullins and Freedy Johnston. Fantasticness.

Thanks, homie! What's your favorite Freedy? Im not familiar

He was never very big I don't think..this was his biggest hit
"Bad Reputation"

However this is my favorite ..
"I Can Hear the Laughs"

The harmonica and acoustic totally sings ROAD TRIP! So much youth energy still pours out in that song. Nice.

Where can I download this song?

Where do you like to? It's in most digital stores but I'm happy to help if you have trouble finding

Nice song. Love the lyrics.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Next time please follow the rules and say your username at the start of your video. Thank you.

I know this is really your video because I know you by now, but we had to add that rule to stop scammers from stealing people's videos. Please remember to add saying your username next time.

Thanks to you and @pfunk and all the judges for giving us a fun place to share. Loved your "fake nice" observations in your recent interview, @luzcypher. Steemit is kind.

I love your harmonica playing man. The way you play sounds a lot like early dylan harmonica but you put your own feel to it as well. Love the lyrics too obviously, this is great all around.

Still my favorite Steemit handle! Did you play? Link me for a listen, please...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64259.11
ETH 3172.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56