Steemit Open Mic Week 73 - Original Song "You Got Your Troubles"

in #openmic6 years ago

25487149_10155085740770841_4661182804809824844_o.jpg

More original music for you this week, y'all. This is a song I've already recorded for my upcoming LP, THE WICKED.

In "You Got Your Troubles" we eavesdrop on a man talking to a woman, reassuring her that her heartaches and regrets are in fact universal, and that they shouldn't stand in the way of her happiness. All too often people let their failures stand in the way of their futures -- in their careers, their friendships and their romantic relationships. "You Got Your Troubles" is a bittersweet reminder that this life is a circus and we all play the clown from time to time. It's OK to get hurt and it's OK to cry, but it's not OK to let fears from past pains stand in the way of your happiness with someone today.

Is there something or someone from your past standing in the way of your moving forward today? Take a listen to this song and consider that getting better always beats being bitter, and that many times the last person to love you is yourself.

Lyrics:

I see the clouds have taken your sky
I know your sun was too young to die
Look at my brothers, these comrades and clowns
They only get high on the way down

C'mon, C'mon
Girl don't you see
There ain't no difference
Between you and me
C'mon, C'mon
Baby don't cry
You got your troubles
So do I
You got your troubles
So do I

You knew the number
of each passing sparrow
But you lost your way on
the straight and the narrow
I made my own way
I was covering ground
But, I must say, my own way
went round and round and round and round

You never played
Those girl go round games
But, I hear your saints
they still changed their names
None of my angels
cares too much for flying
And all of my loose ends
they're too torn for tying

With love,

Joe

Sort:  

Great song I have less troubles after listening ;9)

I got that blues cure!

The capo makes the guitar sound pretty cool Ever think of doing on of these with a ukulele on a beach?

Maybe that's just the winter talking. Thanks again man good luck.

Im a litte addicted to the tones you get from open chords with the capo on the fourth fret. 😍

I'm still new to steemit and haven't seen a lot of your singing posts but I can't stop thinking about Willie Nelson. I hear similarities. I think you could rock some bluegrass too.

Haha. In my own way for sure 😎 Willie is one of the only Texas songsriters that I don't think is overrated. A giant for sure!

Thank you, my friend. Hope you are having a great week!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66603.07
ETH 3335.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70