Steemit Open Mic Week 72 - HAPPY VALENTINE'S DAY EDITION! - Original Song "Je Ne Sais Pas (Je Ne Sais Quoi)"

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

25487149_10155085740770841_4661182804809824844_o.jpg

Happy Valentines Day, Everyone!

Seemed like the perfect day to share a love song. Of course, like all songwriters I've written a lot of them, but this one's from the album I'm currently recording and it's become a regular in my live set lately. It's also a song with some French lyrics which just makes it sound even more romantic to my rough American ears.

Lyrics:

What is love?
Well it's not
wanting more than what you've got.
What is grace?
It's the face
of every single empty space.
What is hope?
It's a rope
swinging from some slippery slope.
What is pain?
It's the refrain
of every single breaking chain.

And I find
that I'm blind
in my heart and in my mind.
And yes, I am deaf
to the sound of my own breath.
And I'm dumb
when it comes
to these same strings that I strum.

Je ne sais pas. Je ne sais quoi. (I don't know. I don't know what)

What's a friend?
Well, they tend
to not break when they bend.
What's a lover?
That's the other
that the nighttime comes to cover.
What's an ally?
That's the gal I
always had a star to sail by.
What's an enemy?
That's the rest of me
once I've lost track of the best in me.

And I find
that I'm blind
in my heart and in my mind.
And yes, I am deaf
to the sound of my own breath.
And I'm dumb
when it comes
to these same strings that I strum.

Je ne sais pas. Je ne sais quoi. (I don't know. I don't know what)

La mer est bleu (The sea is blue)
La mer est sauvage (The sea is wild)
Oui, c'est vrai (Yes, it's true)
C'est dommage (It's too bad)

And I find
that I'm blind
in my heart and in my mind.
And yes, I am deaf
to the sound of my own breath.
And I'm dumb
when it comes
to these same strings that I strum.

Je ne sais pas. Je ne sais quoi. (I don't know. I don't know what)

With love, here's "Je Ne Sais Pas (Je Ne Sais Quoi)"

Sort:  

aww i see @passion-ground caught the cat stevens vibe, Totally feeling that as well great piece my friend love the lyrics

Bless you, @soundlegion Your comments are always appreciated!

Nice one, Joe! Kinda had a bit of a Cat Stevens ring to my ear in certain places... Great song, brother!

Thanks for another great week of music @luzcypher!

Thanks, @passion-ground your enthusiasm is always appreciated! Have a great weekend ✌

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66363.68
ETH 3207.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27