Steemit Open Mic Week 97: Hallelujah (Leonard Cohen / Jeff Buckley Cover)

in #openmic6 years ago

Hello fellow Steemians!

This song probably needs no further introduction. It's the (in)famous Hallelujah by Leonard Cohen and for sure one of the most-covered songs of all time. I played it on several occasions as well - mostly weddings, though the lyrics are pretty sad and dark but nevertheless beautiful.

Hallelujah

Well I've heard there was a secret chord
That David played and it pleased the Lord
But you don't really care for music, do you?
Well it goes like this:
The fourth, the fifth, the minor fall and the major lift
The baffled king composing Hallelujah

Hallelujah

Well your faith was strong but you needed proof
You saw her bathing on the roof
Her beauty and the moonlight overthrew ya
She tied you to her kitchen chair
And she broke your throne and she cut your hair
And from your lips she drew the Hallelujah

Hallelujah

But baby I've been here before
I've seen this room and I've walked this floor
You know, I used to live alone before I knew ya
And I've seen your flag on the marble arch
And love is not a victory march
It's a cold and it's a broken Hallelujah

Hallelujah

Maybe there's a God above
But all I've ever learned from love
Was how to shoot somebody who outdrew ya
And it's not a cry that you hear at night
It's not somebody who's seen the light
It's a cold and it's a broken Hallelujah


Thanks for watching!

http://michaeldietrich.org/
http://www.deadmansboogie.com/

Sort:  

Absolutely beautiful... this is one of my favorite songs and wow, you made this your own and gave me chills. ❤️

Thank you for your words! That is what music and art is all about :)

Classy stuff @michaeldietrich!

Great song and a really awesome job!

Thanks to @curie for finding this so I could too :)

Thanks! Curie is just awesome!

Oooh- my absolute favourite song and you did such a gorgeous job of it- it suits your voice so well, and you made it all your own. I have serious goosebumps here!! It's a deceptively wide range on this song, isn't it? I've been caught out starting an acapella version too low before and it's descended way too low for my range before I get through it ;)

Beautiful guitar playing too - seriously, your performance gave me the chills. Really looking forward to hearing more of your playing! E x

I am glad I did your favorite song justice - thanks for your kind words :) The song itself does not have such a wide range regarding singing. Maybe it is just in the wrong key for you? I'll try my best to post regularly songs though I am in the middle of a move and you might not hear something in the very near future... :)

Oh man I'm cryin' here....


Let me talk about a technicality to dry my eyes....

Make sure you link to this article in the description on your youtube video. By balancing outbound and inbound links we can make sure steemit stays strong on SEO and rankings. Thanks!


Woah, this is going on my playlist. Sub'd on youtubes

Awesome, thanks so much! Well, maybe not for crying but for subscribing and for the hint ;) But anyway, that is the magic that music possesses. I also totally love the feeling when a song moves me to tears. Thanks again, that is probably the greatest compliment one can give!

And this particular song has been transformed many times, and so the 'liberties' you took with it are fantastic, your personal touch! Thanks for replying now I can listen around again ;)

@celinavisaez featured you in the Pay It Forward curation contest. That is what brought me to your post
https://steemit.com/payitforward/@pifc/week-19-pay-it-forward-curation-contest-92fbc29bace4cest

Nice, looks like a great contest! :)

Yes it is and helps a lot of people. More so then any other contest. If I may say so myself. You are welcome to join our discord, Pay It Forward
https://discord.gg/3VQVnZw

One of my favorite songs, along with a million others I think:) You did it justice my friend!

I found your post because @celinavisaez featured you in her entry to our Pay it Forward Curation Contest (I'm one of the judges:). Please feel free to join with an entry of your own next week too! We'd love to have you!

Congratulations on your curie vote too :)

Thank you dear @lynncoyle1! So glad I did the song justice. I'll try to submit an entry but it might get difficult as I am in the middle of a big move... :)

No worries @michaeldietrich, it's an ongoing contest so anytime your life slows down a bit, feel free to jump in!

And yes, you sure did that song justice 😅

That is a powerful song of praise and you have a great voice. Perfect combination!

I came across your post through @celinavisaez who featured it here: Pay it forward curation contest.

You're welcome.

Wirklich schön!!! Congratulations.

Dude, I've heard renditions of this classic from here to eternity...
Your's, however, struck a special chord - without a doubt...
NICE!

Thanks so much brother!

I have a soft spot for this song.

Nicely done @michaeldietrich

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62685.52
ETH 2436.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51