Steemit Open Mic Week 95: Believe (Savatage Cover)

in #openmic6 years ago

Hello fellow Steemians!
For this week's open mic I decided to do one of my all-time favorite songs by one of my all-time favorite bands: Believe by Savatage. I already mentioned this heavily underrated band in a previous post and did a cover version of their song Sleep.

From a songwriting perspective, I see them on the same level as the Beatles (blasphemy...!) and in my opinion this is one of their songs that clearly proves it. It is the closing track from their concept album "Streets", a story about a homeless drug dealer called "DT Jesus". He becomes a rock star, loses everything due to his drug addition but in the end finds salvation again...

Here are the lyrics:

Believe

So after all these one night stands
You've ended up with heart in hand
A child alone
On your own
Retreating
Regretful for the things you're not
And all dreams you haven't got
Without a home
A heart of stone
Lies bleeding

And for all the roads you followed
And for all you did not find
And for all the things you had to leave behind

I am the way
I am the light
I am the dark inside the night
I hear your hopes
I feel your dreams
And in the dark
I hear your screams

Don't turn away
Just take my hand
And when you make your final stand
I'll be right there
I'll never leave
All I ask of you
Believe

Your childhood eyes were so intense
While bartering your innocence
For bits of string
Grown-up wings
You needed

But when you had to add them up
You found that they were not enough
To get you in
Pay for sins repeated

And for all the years you borrowed
And for all the tears you cried
And for all the fears you had to keep inside

I am the way
I am the light
I am the dark inside the night
I hear your hopes
I feel your dreams
And in the dark
I hear your screams

Don't turn away
Just take my hand
And when you make your final stand
I'll be right there
I'll never leave
All I ask of you
Believe


Thanks for watching!

http://michaeldietrich.org/
http://www.deadmansboogie.com/

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Great song and an excellent cover, brother!

Thanks man - you can't go wrong with Savatage. Love the band!

You got my own heart singing. Well done!

Thanks a lot! That makes my heart sing!

Just letting you know that we found you astounding and featured you in our Cover Wednesday!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60268.51
ETH 3201.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43