Steemit Open Mic Week 87: Soldier of Fortune (Deep Purple Cover)

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians!

This weeks contribution for Open Mic is a Deep Purple song called Soldier of Fortune. It is one of the many songs I wished I had written, but the credits go to Ritchie Blackmore and David Coverdale. Blackmore was a huge influence on my guitar playing and I love how he incorporated classical influences, oriental scales and slide guitar into his work. Coverdale is of course one of the greatest rocksingers and I have by far nothing on this guy! But I just recently came across the song again and thought it might be a nice fit. Enjoy!

Soldier Of Fortune

I have often told you stories about the way
I lived the life of a drifter
Waiting for the day
When I'd take your hand and sing you songs
Then maybe you would say
"Come lay with me and love me"
And I would surely stay

But I feel I'm growing older
And the songs that I have sung
Echo in the distance
Like the sound
Of a windmill going round
Guess I'll always be a soldier of fortune

Many times I've been a traveller
I looked for something new
In days of old when nights were cold
I wandered without you
But those days I thought my eyes had seen you standing near
Though blindness is confusing
It shows that you're not here

Now I feel I'm growing older
And the songs that I have sung
Echo in the distance
Like the sound
Of a windmill going round
Guess I'll always be a soldier of fortune

I can hear the sound
Of a windmill going round
Guess I'll always be a soldier of fortune
I guess I'll always be
A soldier of fortune

Sort:  

This song is so cool. I love this ballad, love your voice and your guitar.

Cảm tạ @lenancie! Cheers to Vietnam!

OMG. U amazed me by replying in Vietnamese @@

Love everything about it.
The song is one of my favorites, and you performed it just right!

Thanks @tamacvet! I'm glad to hear I did the song justice.

Fantastic cover of a fantastic song! Good luck this week!

Thanks for your kind words and support! Much appreciated!

Awesome rendition, Michael! Nice, bro...

I was hoping that you would like it! Thanks a lot brother!

Hey @michaeldietrich! You've just received an #ftlob (and our curation trail followers) upvote from @patschwork via this post. Good luck on #openmic! Great rendition of an awesome song :-)

Hey @ftlob, what a nice initiative! I think my husband @michaeldietrich deserves an upvote for being an awesome singer, musician (husband, father, human...):

reward a steemian.jpg

That is awesome @ftlob! Much love!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58478.56
ETH 2523.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36