Steemit Open Mic Week 81 - Vagabond Song (original song)

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Greetings Steemians!
For this week’s open mic session I dug out my loop station and performed a song from my first album „Down Empty Streets“. The tune is called „Vagabond Song“ and is about living on the street, as countless homeless all over the world do. I think most of us have this romantically transfigured view about this life, which has nothing to do with the harsh reality and the struggle these people go through each day. I often get lost in my „first world problems“ (e.g. how to get a good-sounding Steemit post) and tend to forget how good our life generally is…

Vagabond Song

I got gipsy blood
The ole’ travelling bone
Got nothing to loose
Living on my own

Did you ever walk down a railroad track
Considering not to step aside when the train arrives
Nothing’s right and all is lost inside one night, one fight

Every street is the same by night
Every skyline got a thousand points of light
Every city got forbidden sights
To see, to feel, to touch

Hear…
Hear my cry
The vagabond song
The song of life

No forgiveness on the street
When none knows your name
And none is your friend
No fortune no fame

Every street is the same by night
Every skyline got a thousand points of light
Every city got forbidden sights
To see, to feel, to touch

Hear…
Hear my cry
The vagabond song
The song of life


Some nerdy tech talk that none might find interesting:

In general, plugging an acoustic guitar directly into an audio interface sounds horrible – I always use a microphone to record acoustic guitars to get overtones, air etc. However, I used a loop station and had to go directly into the audio interface – and the result was awful, as expected. So I used the Ocean Way Studios plugin from Universal Audio (no, I don't get money from them) that simulates the famous recording rooms of this studio including also a set of state-of-the-art microphones. Seriously: Having plugins for reverb and delay is one thing, but simulating a recording room?! Are you kidding me? You can even virtually position the microphones as you like! That improved the sound a lot, almost like turning shit into gold 😉
So, if you are interested in such geeky gear things, give me a shout and I can do a post about the stuff I use.

Sort:  

Congratulations @michaeldietrich! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Love this so much! Great performance and quite an improvement in the production with the new equipment. Wonderful entry and I wish you luck!

Thank you so much! It's a never ending story to get better sounding recordings ;)

Muchisimas gracias!!

eres muy talentosa

What a cool vibe. I'm glad to learn about your technique here. You've got some great solos in there, over the rhythm you're creating.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53778.84
ETH 2224.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30