Steemit Open Mic Week 78 - The Open Sea (original song)

in #openmic6 years ago

The song "The Open Sea" was also inspired by the amazing writer Ursula K. LeGuin.
I remember reading her book "A Wizard of Earthsea" in summer 1997 (yes, such a long long time ago!) and got totally inspired to write a concept album about it (see https://steemit.com/literature/@michaeldietrich/a-wizard-of-earthsea)

In 2016, I re-recorded the song for my album "Across Open Seas" - you can hear the studio version here:
https://open.spotify.com/track/5SFAEfG8J19qnXQZzIuKzp

And here is my openmic contribution:

And here are the lyrics:

The Open Sea

Before me lies the open sea
Behind the lands that I once knew
My hunt for the shadow has come to an end

Now the time for me has come
What was water became land
The open sea has turned to sand

Staff in hand, striding forward
There in the dark the shadow waits
Face to face in silence
The wizard speaks its name, his name

Only in silence the sound,
Only in dark the light,
Only in dying life:
Bright the hawk's flight
On the empty sky

Light and darkness meets and joins
The boy and the shadow, both are one
It is over, it is done

I am whole, I am free
In my ears I hear the melody

Only in silence the sound,
Only in dark the light,
Only in dying life:
Bright the hawk's flight
On the empty sky

Sort:  

Sounds really good man. Hope to hear more next week.

To enter Steemit Open Mic please follow the rules. Thank you.

steemit_open_mic_week_76_rules.png

Click here for more about Open Mic rules

Hi Lou, thanks for the hint! I added the link to my post in your original Open Mic Week 78 post - hope everything is fine now? Cheers!

Beautiful song and performance, man... Nice!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58668.45
ETH 3162.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44