Open Mic Songwriters Week 7 - Theme: Right Place / Right Time - My Top 5 Judges Selection

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

   I kept on reading your posts this week, many of you my songwriter friends were stating that it was such a difficult theme to write about, yet... the entries were simply amazing. I've tried so hard to boil it down to five that I'm suffering from a happy headache right now, the fact that a few stragglers came up with some amazing entries literally last minute did not help, as I thought I was coming to a final decision only to realize, I almost had to start all over again.


right place righ time.png

   The last theme for the week is going to be quite special, and I believe it will be a lot more fitting for our openmic songwriters to dive into, but of course, still challenging enough as to evoke some great tunes for the last week of the contest. I want to say once more, that coming up with this last list was not easy, as a matter of fact, I've revised it twice today and I might do it one more time before I hit that little post Button.

@tarotbyfergus

   Man oh man, what a great tune! I don't know if @tarotbyfergus gives himself enough credit for his lyrics. His entries have gotten better and better as the weeks have gone by, and I'm sure I'm not the only one who thinks so. As I read his post (I always do before I hit play) I was thinking... "Hrmm... he struggled with this theme? the Alien Abduction man?... ok... let's hear this" It may have been difficult for him to write this song, but the outcome is genius....

I loved this comment on his post... and I agree 100%


I loved this comment on his post.png

@onetruebrother

   I'm not surprised @onetruebrother is on my list again, this man is like a machine. Can anyone point me to one of his entries that is, let's say, not up to par? I don't think anyone can, this song belongs on a Paul Simon album. I'm thinking if Paul Simon was to listen to this song, he would buy off @onetruebrother in secret.

   In a conversation with @passion-ground I remember telling him "You know what I find great about @onetruebrother? A couple of chords and the truth... no thrills, no tricks... It's the hardest way to write" and this hold true still. A great song can be represented in it's minimal components and still be great, and this track is a shinning example of a great song.

@chrisroberts

   My friend @chrisroberts killed it dead with this entry. It's not like I'm an authority on country and folk music, because I'm simply not, but please... somebody tell me why is this not in nashville? This is fantastic, the lyrics were clever, the harmonies added that necessary color my ears expected, and when they kicked in, I knew @chrisroberts had done it again.

   I love the fact that his wife participated on this track again, In my book this is a creative power couple of Steemit, and I'm sure they are just getting started. Thank you for sharing this with us!

@wilins

   The moment I read the title, a song called "Violent Love" I thought to myself "This is going to be interesting"boy was I right, what a song, what a performance too. The lyrics depict one of those escapades you only see a movie about, and the haunting melodies complement the message in ways that are hard to describe with words. I would encourage everyone to listen to his entry. Absolutely fantastic!

@basilmarples

   One of my favorite Steemians on this platform, and someone who I believe has just begun to tap into his potential. @basilmarples start's off the video by saying his inspiration was running dry, yet the music spoke to me in ways that maybe he did not expect. This here my friends is not just a song he wrote, he wrote a soundtrack for a film that has not been made yet, and the funny thing is he does not know it. I loved it, I'm listening to it again for the third time today.

Honorable mentions in no specific order: @jaybird @kayclarity @chaifm @ivan.antman @ausxen @bennettitalia

   Today we start the last week of this challenge, and I can't wait to see/hear what songs my favorite Steemians will come up with. I almost can't believe this is almost over, but I have to say I feel like we've grown so much, not only as individuals of course, but also as a community, that I can't help but to be super proud of every single one of you. Thank you again for participating, for taking on this crazy challenge and for being strong enough to show your most vulnerable side.

Love you all

meno logo.png

Sort:  

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @Meno from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Un gran saludo amigo @meno, imagino lo difícil ser juez ante tantos talentos, donde la participación en Openmic ha sido increíble, todas mis entradas semanales las he disfrutado en familia, saludos.

saludos Oscar, he visto sus interpretaciones con ese instrumento tan fantastico llamado Cuatro... muchas bendiciones para usted y su familia... ;)

wow awesome pick sir @meno. they are all great steemit musicians..

thank you brother for being part of the family!

No sir., instead I should thank you for giving us a chance to be heard our music our masterpiece in this awesome platform., You, @pfunk, @luzcypher, @passion-ground, @verbald and the rest of the open mic team are trully an inspirational steemians.. Bless You All

Really great entries this week. I can't wait for this final week.

The post should be out soon my friend... I'm sure you are going to kill it again!

Awesome

Gracias por tanto, @Meno t abrazo, hermano.

I swear, I also thought @tarotbyfergus was a young Iggy Pop.

Congrats to all of them and to the judges! ^^

he is... don't let him lie to you!

Thank you @meno!
This challenge is my favorite thing on Steemit, and you have provided a platform that is gold for songwriters, both to get the energy moving, and to hear the brilliance that is here in our fellow Steemians:D

Enjoy the vote and reward!

it's been a blast!!! I was just jamming to your song again... such a great tune..,

I'm glad you like it @meno! The process of writing that song may have saved a relationship as well:D

Great Picks, @meno! And my loudest applause to all of the great entries this week, and another round of applause to each of the wonderful artists on your list here today - you guys rocked the house!

Top Picks my friend, great Songwriting still getting better every week so I am almost a little bit sad that the contest ends on monday...thank you a lot for your effort, time and work you put into it!

I am anxious to participate I have some songs that cry out to come to light ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54295.07
ETH 2287.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31