I'm already thinking of a new Songwriter Challenge Idea

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

The crazy growth spurt of the open mic contest has given me a lot to think about. For one I’m smiling like a chubby kid inside a bakery listening to all the amazing entries the contestants are submitting each week, but I can’t help to think there is something even more ninja we have not tried, at least that I’m aware of.

Here is the deal….

Aside from the guitarists, the pianists, the songwriters, there are a few Steemians who also produce music. What I’m basically saying is that I know for a fact, Steemians like @muphy @buckydurddle and @globocop have a few ninja chops as studio musicians, producers and overall engineering experience.


giphy (20).gif

So what can we do about this?

How about we kick it up a notch, how about we get together and professionally produce one of the songs, or more, submitted by Steemit’s very own songwriters.

What is stopping us? Time? Money? Pizza? Beer?

I’m here to tell you all doubts have crossed my mind, but I believe that as community we can ninja this one and immortalize some songs on the blockchain. Which is why I’m writing this post.

What is the ninja chop?

First things first, out of all my talented Steemian brothers and sisters I would like to ask who is willing to take part of this, and I mean not only submitting music, but producing a full song, after we have picked the winner, or more correct would be to say, after the community has picked the winner.

We would need:

  • Main producer / Arranger
  • Musicians to participate of the track (they need to have a recording setup)
  • Mixing Engineer
  • Pizza
  • Beer

Ok, maybe those last two are optional for some of you guys, but I’m a professional.

I’m putting out this post to get some feedback from my fellow Steemian Openmicrophoners, and for all of you to poke holes in it.

But to preemptively chop the anti ninja in the neck, let me outline the following:

  • Songwriter or Songwriters who participate would keep their rights to their songs
  • Session Musicians, Mixing Eng, and of course the ninja Producer would be compensated for their time

Where will the money come from, you might ask?


giphy (21).gif

We can work out the details and logistics of this, but long story short, all participants of this would be submitting on Steem, thus winning curation and the organizers of this little venture would be posting it’s progress. The liquid rewards would be collected to payout the ninjas working behind the scenes bringing the song to studio quality.

I’m sure there will be a lot of conversations regarding this idea, and I’m looking forward to brainstorming it until it shows on the radar.

What do you guys think? What am I not considering? Let me hear it!!!

Much love

meno logo.png


palnet banner.gif
Join us on Discord

Sort:  

Super duper nice! ♡♡♡♡

Carlita, ya que comenzastes mas tarde que nadie me voy a proponer ayudarte para que alcances a los muchachos, pero hazme caso y participa del open mic esta semana... creeme que te va a ir fantastico!

I'm in!!!

I knew you would buckster!

I am interested in interesting projects when it comes to producing music :D

Here is my music: https://soundcloud.com/antminer


I've actually heard your stuff before brother... good stuff (@isaria shared it on MSP)

If you need anything that is music related feel free to message me ;)

Haha! Beer and pizza! 😂 Seems like you've got most of the idea planned out! I love the idea of helping the musical community grow! Although I'm not a producer or anything, I'll still stop by and listen to all the awesomeness! Can't to hear it all! 🤘

I'm in with beer and pizza.

spoken like a true musician...

I would contribute in any way I am wanted. I will watch to see how this develops and check back in...great idea man!

I am in too. Any of the first three anyway 😂

Need to decide on rythm/beat/tempo, song structure & key, and I can produce a basic click track.
Let's do this in 432 Hz meaning the A above middle C is tuned to 432 Hz, not 440.

awesome globo... i had a great convo with the buckster and he is down too... i dont see why we can't make this happen...

Another great concept @meno! I'd be happy to record some drums if need be.

I'm pretty sure that I'm not the best bass player on steemit, but I'd be happy to contribute what I can to people's songs.
I'm only working with Audacity right now as far as recording on the computer, but it seems to get the job done for me.

we are going to come up with something awesome... just you watch ;)

I would gladly record a solo part for songs, provided that I feel to do that (no majorish tonalities lol). Or if I get an idea for a song I would love to be surrounded by awesome musicians during the process, cause I'm a real noob when comes to production...Is like Arabic for me...Do you speak that too?

Hz bro.. it would be great to have you be part!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63186.04
ETH 3392.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50