Steemit Open Mic Week 68: Yeats' Grave (Cranberries Cover)

in #openmic6 years ago

For Steemit Open Mic Week 68, I decided to record a loose version of a Cranberries song that I always loved when I was a kid and still love to this day. Actually, I recorded a this song a few months ago for Open Mic, but threw it in the trash because it wasn't even close to the original. Tonight, I decided to try it again because Delores and The Cranberries have been a huge influence on me.

I mean no disrespect by covering a song about death, but this one was always special to me for some reason. Delores O'Riordan wrote this about the poet W.B. Yeats. Her voice told a story, and through her voice, she told it in a way that was different. That's something that I always admired about her.

I've been sick with the flu for the past couple days, but I was devastated to hear the news about Dolores when I logged on to my social media accounts. The Cranberries were a huge part of my adolescence. We were a poor family during the 90's. We didn't have access to MTV or "good" radio stations, but my dad subscribed to a monthly music service called "Rock Video Monthly", where we would get 10 videos a month on a VHS tape sent to us in the mail. When we found something we liked, my Dad would order the band's CD through a company called BMG music. As the oldest child, I would take these CDs and listen to them on repeat in my room over and over and over. The Cranberries were one of those bands. Their music, but especially their lead singer, made a huge impact on me.

RIP, Delores. My thoughts are with your family and friends and I can't even begin to express how much your music has meant to me over the years.

Thanks for checking it out.

Sort:  

Beautiful Mel... it brought tears to my eyes. I just can't believe that one of the first female musicians that I looked up to as a child is actually gone... Yet another of my top 5 childhood influences gone. She is the reason that I was and still am so obsessed with Ireland and Celtic history. :'(

I know, I was crushed when I heard about it. Another one gone way before their time. She was so young... :(

...nice, Mel...
...I wasn't familiar with this one...thanks for sharing...

also...I freakin' LOVED Rock Video Monthly...I think I still have a couple of them in my collection of old VHS tapes...

Rock video monthly was where I heard some of my favorite bands for the first time. I always looked forward to getting those tapes in the mail!

I'm still wrapping the idea of her being gone. Just so tragic 🙁. I think it was a beautiful choice, you don't hear this one often.
Rock Video Monthly... oh man the memories. To this day when I hear a certain song it takes me back to my childhood singing and dancing in front of the tv.

It really is so sad... We all grew up on the cranberries and she was a really big influence on me when I was a little girl. We all need to get together and watch some RVM together soon. Dad would be proud :)

Me as well, her lyrics really spoke to me through my teenage years too. The kids adore zombie (of course 😊). Yes we should, and he would be. When I see the kids hearing a certain song, and them really feeling it, it reminds me of him, and how he let the music flow through

Awesome job Mel! I haven't heard this song in a while and you do a lovely cover of it. It's always a pleasure listening to you play and sing! I'm hoping to make it down next weekend. Maybe we can get together and play a few tunes.

You know I’m always down for some acoustics jams and hanging out! Let’s make it happen! :)

That's gteat and wonderful, for steemit people

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17