Steemit Open Mic Week 57: Open Road Song (Eve 6 cover)

in #openmic7 years ago

It’s been a while since I’ve made an #openmic entry. I’ve been enjoying a nice day off work, cleaning around the house and blasting some music. This song popped up on one of my Spotify stations and I forgot how much I love the lyrics!

Eve 6 had a couple hit songs back in the late 90s/ early 2000s and I remember purchasing the cd and falling in love with the lyrics to this one. There’s something so peaceful about taking a drive alone and cranking up the tunes!

The family will be home soon and I only have the house to myself for a short while. So I learned this as quickly as I could and threw it together with some basic power chords. I wanted to play it with full chords, but time is of the essence! I messed up a lot and it’s horribly inaccurate, but I guess that’s kinda my style ;) I did the best I could with the time I had. Here’s my super simple acoustic adaptation of the power pop song.

Here are the lyrics:

Tonight I feel ambitious and so does my foot
as it sinks on the pedal
I press it to the floor
I don't need a girl, don't need a friend
Cause my friend Lonesome's unconditional
We're flying forever bored
And for a moment I love everything that I see and think and feel
I love my broken side view mirror
Cause it's so perfect I'm so perfect you're so perfect you're not here
I hear the change in gears
My pile shakes as I hit eighty on the open road
This is an open road song
The night is beckoning
Although I have nowhere to go but home
Feels good to be alone
With every turn comes a new frame of mind
If I could frame my mind
Where would it hang?
My pile shakes as I hit eighty on the open road
This is an open road song

Thanks for checking it out!

Sort:  

Cool - Quick cover, Melody! "Tie Me To The Bedpost" or whatever the title was - I think it was "Inside Out" is one of my absolute favorites from Eve-6. Maybe you can do that one day... :-)

Yeah I remember that one too! My music taste is pretty eclectic. I blame the 90’s ;) Haha, it was a pretty cool time to grow up as far as music is concerned.

Cool how you just whipped this one out.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

While the kids and husband are away, my guitar I do play :)

Well done Melody!!!

Thanks a bunch! :)

you are so great,nice job.

Thanks so much! :)

I LOVE THIS SONG! You did awesome! Sounds great!!!!! <3

Just showed this to Funk... and he made a comment at the end that when he says " As I hit 80 on the open road" that it sounds like you are saying "As I hit Adie on the open road".... which is horrible (thats where his mind goes) but he was like... I know we never see her anymore but you don't have to hit her with your car. You get to see her more than we do. You know how Funk is. He didn't mean any harm but it was kind of funny hearing it come out of his mouth.

Haaaaaa haaa!! Well I’m gonna see Addie tonight so I’ll try not to hit her ;) Love you chrystal! ❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69942.87
ETH 3793.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73