Steemit Open Mic Week 47: "Hold the Line" (White Buffalo cover)

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

steemit_open_mic_47.png

I had the day off work today. The kids were at school and the hubby was at work, so guess what? I actually got to play my guitar and sing in my own home !!!

I'm pretty apprehensive and bashful about playing solo. I'm used to jamming with my band, so please be gentle, Steemit. I just love the music community on here, so I've been trying to make an effort to contribute.

Thanks so much for listening :)

follow melody.jpg

Sort:  

Mel!!! This was awesome! I am so glad you had some "me time" to play some music!!! I loved it. Love you, sweetheart!

The "me time" was much needed. Thanks darlin, love you too!!! ❤️

This is completely beautiful! Love it!!

Don't be apprehensive about playing solo. You sound amazing. Band Mel and Solo Acoustic Mel are equally outstanding.

Thanks so much Jessamyn. That really means a lot ☺️

Mel, this was just absolutely breathtaking! I of course love the band music, but always love hearing your solo stuff as well! So good!

Thanks Ash! You need to come sing with me some day soon ;)

I'm no singer, but heck yes! I would love that!
I was just thinking how I haven't heard you and @jessicalayman sing together in forever! That would be something all would enjoy!

I'm tellin' ya- Yates family band needs to happen ! 😉

I second this. Every single one of you are so talented and amazing. All of you singing together is truly something!!!

Any apprehension or bashfulness is totally unwarranted, you play and sing great!

Aww, thank you so much for the kind words @passion-ground! ☺️

I'm a little jealous of your kids, will you come sing me bedtime songs?!?! Love your beautiful voice and you always play so well!! #talentedmama

Haha, they actually get annoyed with me most of the time when I play. But when they decide to sing with me, they sound like little angels :) Thanks for the sweet compliment and for listening @tiredmama! ❤️

I agree. I still want to see a recording of you and Annabel doing "Blue Jays"

If I can get them to focus long enough to sing the whole song lol. I think they were showing off just a little when you guys were here ;)

Good one Melody!!! Really enjoyed your performance.

Thanks for listening @vachemorte! I've recently become a big fan of your stuff :)

@melodyrussell - this was great, you sing and play very well - what is the name of your band ?- would love to hear you with them as well

Thank you for the kind words @pandamama! I play guitar and sing in a band called Sideways Geoffrey. We've been making music together for about 6 or 7 years but we didn't even start making videos or sharing much until Steemit gave us the motivation to do so! ;) Are you a musician as well? I'm following you now and you seem to have a lot of music related posts :) Our band has a Facebook page https://m.facebook.com/SidewaysGeoffrey/, although we share most of our stuff here on Steemit. Thanks for your interest!

Yes, we are a musical family. I used to be in a band in my early days. Now my daughter @edenmichelle is a singer, songwriter and producer and my sons @leelektrik and @deimus are both involved in music. Thanks for the follow. I put up a great video tonight of one of the dancers who has performed in some music videos for us and just arrived in London this week.

That's wonderful! I've been around music my whole life and my 2 daughters are music lovers and beautiful little singers :) I will definitely check out your kids' blogs and your video asap! (Having internet issues right now) Lovely to meet you @pandamama! :)

and you - @edenmichelle just posted a Justin Timberlake cover and also one of her EDM songs tonight - would love your feedback in a comment @melodyrussell

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62922.80
ETH 3437.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50