Open mic week 39 submission: Acoustic cover of Sublime's "Boss DJ"

in #openmic7 years ago

So this is definitely not one of my finest moments in music, but I only get the chance to be alone if I stay up ridiculously late. Just a crappy phone video from 1am. But hey, why the hell not? 🤓

This is a simple and probably a pretty well known cover song by Sublime (sampled from Bob Marley)

This song is pretty special to me because when my dad was alive, he would always say "Mel, play that one song!!! You know the one I'm talking about!" He could never remember the name of the song but I always knew what he was talking about and I would always play it for him :)

He died a pretty sudden and unexpected death about 3 months before his 50th birthday. In his last hours, he had lost the ability to speak, and I could see the pure fear in his eyes when he realized he was dying. I sat on the edge of his hospital bed and sang this song to him and he drifted off to sleep for a few minutes of peace before he woke back up in pain. He died a few short hours later.

Anyway, all sadness aside, this song actually brings back tons of happy memories for me! Good memories of hanging out and playing sing-alongs at Dad's place. It's a simple but super fun tune. I've never played it "correctly" but this has always been my little rendition of the song. Hope you enjoy!

Sort:  

LOVED hearing your voice again... great job!

Thanks @lucyjane! I can't wait to hear some music from you!!! ❤️

Awww... hopefully soon. I gave up for a few years because I became discouraged, the band I had with Kevin kind of fell apart... I also had so much happen in my life with the accident and afterwards, I found that I was overwhelmed mentally and emotionally. I wasn't able to process everything and I believe that is why, after writing all my life, the songs stopped coming. In truth, I haven't written anything new in a long time. At the same time, it was a pivotal moment for my kids and I felt they needed me around as much as possible, so I stopped playing out. Watching you, Jason and Jessamyn on here, and this platform in general, has given me new hope in regards to music. Something I haven't had in a long time. Sorry if this is much, but now you're caught up lol. I wanted to share it, but also thank you for your support and inspiration. Long story short, I'm very rusty and practicing right now. Ha :)

Thanks for sharing that with me, @lucyjane. Life happens. Death happens. And I think at some point in our lives, we have all drifted away from our creativity to focus on the more important things, especially when family is involved. Truth be told, i never really stopped playing music but I cut my live gigs with the guys to maybe once or twice a year because family comes first! For the past 6 or 7 years I have been jamming with a few of my buddies just once or twice a month for a couple hours at a time. We're all grown up now with jobs and families so we have to prioritize, but the music helps us blow off some steam and maintain our sanity :) I've only written probably 2 original songs in the past 5 years. So, if music can't be your thing now, or at least for a while, you obviously have many other areas of interest that you can share here. That's what make Steemit so awesome!

Definitely! There are other things to share here for sure, but I'm gaining new desire bred by the hope I'm finding here. I'm excited to get back into music again. This platform makes it easy to share what you love without compromising those 'adult' things. I love this community already!

I'm so glad to hear that! It has definitely been an inspiration to me and pulled me out of my creative rut. I'm sure you will do great here!

I'm glad you're still playing, my friend. Jam on
:)

Thank you for playing Steemit Open Mic.

Magic happens most in the early morning hours!!! Especially if drinking is involved... Bwahaha! Our demon was rum the night we recorded our entry. 😝 It was beautiful!

So very true! Most of my songwriting happens in the wee hours of the morning 😉 And I may or may not have been drinking some wine , haha! I loved your 2am video (when I finally got to watch it!)

i really like it great job

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84