Steemit Openmic Week 73 - Wastelands curse

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

I wrote this song in my teenage years in a time where I was confronted with drug abuse, addiction and death. I haven't sung it in many years since one of the last times I played it to someone on the way to wasteland this person was hit so badly that he had to trow up. Which was clearly the most intense reaction to my music I ever got.

Today that song came to me again because I had to play it to someone as a warning and it was the only way to get delivered what I really wanted to say. In this moment I realized that this song had been a warning to myself back then. Not to fall for wastelands curse. As if I was channeling the voice of addiction and it said: Don't go there! It's a trap!
And I somehow came to think this epic thought: Maybe this song saved my life.

If life's not worth living anymore
and desperate thoughts come knocking at your door
when you're begging for salvation from this task
Oh I know just where to go and who to ask

Come with me we're gonna buy some emptiness
Come with me I'm gonna make you forget
Giving up is just as easy as it seems
if you don't care about what is fake and what is real

Welcome to wasteland
Here is what you've been asking for
We have forgotten the word future
Couldn't use it anymore

Lie down in wasteland
because we know how it feels
to be lonely to be wasted
Come and share your broken dreams

Life is just the price you have to pay
but it seems to be quite cheap for you today
Giving up is just another way of life
when all your hope is gone you can't survive the fight

But if once you've come with us to fly away
If you come down again
You'll have to stay

Welcome to wasteland
We got the cure for all your pain
If there is nothing but the real world
we prefer to go insane

Lie down in wasteland
and soon you'll know how it feels
to be numb like your cold hands
and to forget just how to dream


This video is part of my own personal onetake challenge. I want to let go of perfection. I first struggled to post it but in the end the blackout and the broken notes felt somehow fitting...

Sort:  

That was so delicately beautiful, radiant lass!
🙏🏽👌🏽⭐️🎼💚

Thank you Nathan! Means a lot to hear that from a great musician like you!! ❣️

Once again I'm sink in your voice... wow. AMAZING. I think this is the best piece I heard from you so far.

Wow. Thank you. It's strange how this song came back to me after more than ten years and I suddenly realize what it really means to me.

Wait you wrote this more than 10 years ago?

Yes maybe even 12. I don't remember exactly anymore. I was something around 17.

wow you're truly a hidden gem! You should get your singing contract sign by now! I'll be your manager ahahaha.

Thank you but I don't need a contract or a manager. I wanna stay a free music bird. ;)

aww I hope birds can sing like you lol. Please stop by my window every morning then haha.

Another incredible original from you @melavie I can't begin to describe the quality of your voice in your performances, simply amazing ✌

Darkly beautiful tune. Amazing stuff.

Yes I think it's the darkest song I ever wrote in English. At least when it comes to how it feels to me. Thank you for stopping by and feeling it.

Beautiful voice and song! Very soulful

Thank you for listening. ;)

Beautiful song

wow you listened to it in 1 minute? you're fast!

Bahaha gotta love that dodgy bs, ahhh well I absolutely love the way you called them out!

Oh well lovely I actually listened to your phenomenal song, as always your voice was perfection and this tool ^ ^ just missed out on an absolutely brilliant song - by an amazingly talented artist.

Much love as always, you never fail to make me feel an instant connection to the emotion of the song - the meaning, your just sublime.

It seems you don't simply listen, you feel the essence of my songs. That is the greatest gift you can give to a musician. Thank you!
Much love from Austria to Australia! <3

Ah mela... the things you say.... I could listen to your songs for days....

Thank you for hearing me meno. And for being you.

Thank you gorgeous addie!!! <3

Apvote me hai

No thank you. Hai

ahahahah. I'll ask steemcleaners to upvote you @good-darma. It will be an upvote too. Xd

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88