Steemit Open Mic Week 70 - Be prepared (Original)

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

This week I'm sharing a very old song of mine. You can probably hear the rebellious teenage spirit in there.

I remember how the words came to me so clearly all at once I had to run home singing to write them down.

That one came to my mind again today when I read about how the new right wing Austrian government plans to shut down the alternative radio station fm4 because "it doesn't fulfill the claim of being educative" by promoting kindness and an open mind. fm4 is also hosting an annual protest song contest. For me it's a sign that it's time to sing these kind of songs again. Time to show that we're not gonna shut up that easily.

Sing along if there's something in this world you don't agree with. It's the preparation to do something about it.

Be prepared to be haunted because you just won't run away
Be prepared to be homeless because you still refuse to stay
Be prepared to be called a liar when you tell them what you see
Be prepared to fight against fire 'cos you're the rain the enemy

Oooh... be prepared

Be prepared that they won't let you when you try to set them free
Be prepared they'll try to get you when you even wish to be
Be prepared they'll try to scare you, try to knock you out
Be prepared they will arrest you if you speak your mind too loud

Oooh... be prepared

Be prepared they'll lock you out won't let you look behind their mask
Be prepared to get wrong answers 'cos they never dare to ask
Be prepared to be the price for everything you can't afford
Be aware, it would be wise if you praise another lord

Oooh... be prepared

They can fool some people sometimes
but they can't fool all the people all the time

(Thanks Bob Marley for the last sentence)

Sort:  

Nice one! I'm ready lady. Really liked the content of this! not in one of those I got a gun and I'm gonna protect this land kinda way, more I am reading books and arming myself with knowledge and learning so I can be prepared with love, understanding and compassion.

That's exactly what I'm talking about. Arming ourselves with kindness and compassion while being prepared to take it into action.
Thank you for listening!

You are amazing, listening to your voice is like being. In heaven.!!! Thank. You sister

Jamming with you under the stars felt like heaven to me too sister. :) hugs!

Reminded me a bit on Charlotte Gainsbourg here :)
Immaculate performance @melavie you'r best piece 👍

Thanks for your words. I like how they go along with beautiful music recommendations. :)

Your voice is awesome! Your voice just give me goosebumps... Talents on steemit is just unimaginable!

another fantastic piece @melavie great stuff I really enjoy hearing you perform

Thanks a lot! I'm so grateful for this community here. It's a beautiful thing how the openmic connects people through the music. Thank You for everything you do!

oh man what a voice. so nice. resteemed and followed! what do i have to do to get some of your stuff on my website? sooo good.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

You always get me with your music, it's amazing hun.

I was hoping you could reach out to me on discord I have an opportunity I'd like to share with you and I hate for you to miss it - cheers :D

Thanks so much for the support!
Now you made me curious. I joined the discord dimension. :)

Haha I have planted the seed :P I wrote you back and look forward to a chat soon - Cheers :D

Love your voice and these great lyrics. Thanks!

Great song and performance, Melavie!

Thanks a lot for stopping by! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95