OpenMic Songwriters Challenge Week 6, 7 & 8 - High on life

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

This challenge is somehow magical to me. I'm gonna tell you the story why.

I left home a month ago to live on vulcanos and beaches without any electricity or other comforts of civilization.

When I arrived at the Sea I checked the topic of week 6 it was "wind swept shore".
I thought: no way this is a coincidence. I got to write that song!
But no. I was too distracted. I needed to take it all in.

IMG_5748.JPG

The week after, i travelled on and for many reasons the journey really seemed like a "special delivery". Again I felt the urge to express it with song but somehow life got inbetween.

IMG_5497.JPG

When I arrived to the place that I was actually heading to the week's topic was "right place/right time". @meno once wrote in a comment that I "hacked his emotional files". Well, it seems he hacked mine too. I stopped counting after the third time someone said these exact words to me in week 7.

All these weeks all these topics were present in my reality but I couldn't find the time or battery to finally write it down and record it.

This week I'm gonna leave this Island and when I saw the topic "Till we meet again" I knew it was time.

So it came that I packed all three topics into one piece since they were all part of my journey somehow. (Which is quite impressive @meno)

This one is about that strange indescribable connection to the universe that we feel when we recognize we are all of it at once.

Bless you, @luzcypher and everyone involved for all the inspiration and synchronicity your challenge gave me.

This time it's not a late night but a hungry recording. Which means there was some impatience involved. Have fun with my face while I'm messing up. :)
Also I had to do it all on my phone so please excuse the quality.

This song is like a special delivery
That the wind swept to the shore
I took off from home to capture me
The current taught me so much more
So much more

My school is the forest and the street
And my lesson is the story of the sea
Life my teacher is testing me with lies
Whispering softly
Don't worry you're the sky

This song came with a message to deliver me
What I can be is what I am
I will sort out that discovery
To find out till we meet again
Till we meet again

Wherever I cross my own lines
I once drew to protect what is inside
Whenever I breathe with the tide
I'm in the right place at the right time
High on life

My melody's a tune that's bittersweet
And the baseline is a frequent steady beat
The words to it they marry way beyond my mind
Promising gently
Don't worry you're the sky

Sort:  

Beautiful voice @melavie. Love this song and how you worked al the songs from the challenge into it. Very cool.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Thank you @luzcypher! Happy to hear you like it. :)

I really love the composition of the lyrics, kinda sound like a poem

Thanks @wendie! Now I see it too. :)

It is quite remarkable how you managed to weave all of those themes into one coherent message... We missed you terribly, @melavie! So glad your back - this was a great entry on its own, but also one that easily makes up for time lost... Loved it!

Thanks for your words! It felt quite remarkable to me how easily and naturally it all came together. I'm happy to be back and at the same time a little in awe because it's the last week of the challenge!

Missed seeing and hearing you @melavie. ❤

Thank you @szuri! I'm glad to be back! ❣️

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Nice combination of the themes all in 1 song. Unexpected. Voice is top notch as usual & great lyrics

Also for me it was surprising how well it fit. Thanks for listening and your comment!

Wow! Hope you have special time around the world. ;) Looks like you have :)

I do. :)
Hope you have a special time too.

Happy to hear that! (:)

ahhh so nice to have you back! With another lovely song, working your magic on all those synchronicities, mopping up the themes like they were sweet butter.... such a treat to have right at the end like this! x

Thank you for the warm welcome back! I am a little sad this is over now. We could just keep sending each other topics from now on to keep up the flow. What do you think? :)

thats a lovely idea!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58006.10
ETH 3098.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43