OPEN MIC WEEK 42 - original composition | Mogati-Poema XV | Indo-chilean fusionsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit!

This is my first video for the open mic competition :) For this week I am playing a musical interpretation of a poem written by Pablo Neruda, a chilean poet who's words have many times touched my heart. He won the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1971, and was also really involved in politics.
Composing is one of my passions, and I'm really excited about sharing this with the Steemit community. I write with my friend @gokulramdas and we perform together as Mogati (an Indo-chilean fusion duo based in Boston). We love to collaborate with friends and we jam a lot, so you can expect many more videos from us :)
Thank you for watching and feel free to comment!



Poema XV
Me gustas cuando callas porque estás como ausente,
y me oyes desde lejos, y mi voz no te toca.
Parece que los ojos se te hubieran volado
y parece que un beso te cerrara la boca.

Como todas las cosas están llenas de mi alma
emerges de las cosas, llena del alma mía.
Mariposa de sueño, te pareces a mi alma,
y te pareces a la palabra melancolía.

Me gustas cuando callas y estás como distante.
Y estás como quejándote, mariposa en arrullo.
Y me oyes desde lejos, y mi voz no te alcanza:
déjame que me calle con el silencio tuyo.

Déjame que te hable también con tu silencio
claro como una lámpara, simple como un anillo.
Eres como la noche, callada y constelada.
Tu silencio es de estrella, tan lejano y sencillo.

Me gustas cuando callas porque estás como ausente.
Distante y dolorosa como si hubieras muerto.
Una palabra entonces, una sonrisa bastan.
Y estoy alegre, alegre de que no sea cierto.

-Pablo Neruda

ENGLISH TRANSLATION

Poem XV
I like for you to be still: it is as though you were absent,
and you hear me from far away and my voice does not touch you.
It seems as though your eyes had flown away
and it seems that a kiss had sealed your mouth.

As all things are filled with my soul
you emerge from the things, filled with my soul.
You are like my soul, a butterfly of dream,
and you are like the word Melancholy.

I like for you to be still, and you seem far away.
It sounds as though you were lamenting, a butterfly cooing like a dove.
And you hear me from far away, and my voice does not reach you:
Let me come to be still in your silence.

And let me talk to you with your silence
that is bright as a lamp, simple as a ring.
You are like the night, with its stillness and constellations.
Your silence is that of a star, as remote and candid.

I like for you to be still: it is as though you were absent,
distant and full of sorrow as though you had died.
One word then, one smile is enough.
And I am happy, happy that it's not true.

-Pablo Neruda


(by the way it is my birthday today, turned 25 :P)

Sort:  

Congratulations @matisotoaguilar and @gokulramdas ! You have won 1st place in the Steemit Open Mic Week 42 contest. The 150 Steem prize was transferred to each of your accounts. 75 Steem to each of you. Tanks you for playing for us.

Thank you @luzcypher! this is so motivating :)

Hey guys this is wonderful!
You really deserved this weeks first place! <3
Great choice @luzcypher!

beautiful guitar and loved the harmonies

Thank you! This guitar has been part of my life for many years :) I love the sound it has.

Thanks for playing Steemit Open Mic. Beautiful singing

Thank you! It's a great initiative, I'm glad I can be part of it!

This was awesome!!! Love this rhythm and melody! Keep on posting, wish you success! :)

Thank you! same for you!!

Really nice guitar chords and great harmonies!

Thank you! I'm glad you liked it :)

chuck approves small.jpg

A rather striking and lovely duet... Brilliant!

Suena sabrosisimo todo! Sencillo, homogeneo, relajante! Ya vote por ustedes, muchisima suerte :D

P.D.: El uso del Takadimi les quedo GENIAL!

Jaja gracias! @gokulramdas me ha estado enseñando Konnakol (percusión vocal del sur de la India) por un tiempo. Lo encuentro increíble y me ha hecho cambiar la perspectiva sobre cómo usar el tiempo en la música. Si te interesa te recomiendo ver este video, está buenísimo :)

Pfff que geniaaal! Muchisimas gracias por la recomendacion. Actualmente no practico nada de eso, pero siempre me ha llamado muchisimo la atencion. Un abrazo :)

Lovely 🎵

Congratulations @matisotoaguilar! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.56
ETH 3203.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46