Steemit open mic Week 70 "No Damn Good" Original Song

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Hi steemians, I know this entry is really very late, I'm sorry.

I don't want to bore you with my shitty woes, but it's been a particularly tough time as I'm literally going through a break up with a long term girlfriend at this present time. This is the reason I didn't make last weeks open mic and the reason for being so late this week.

steemit_open_mic_week_70.png

"No Damn Good" This is my own original song.

Please don't be put off by the title, hopefully you'll find the song is better than the name might suggest.

Lyrics
Well you say that I'm trouble
And I ain't no good
And I don't bring no money home
To pay for any food
You tell me that you're leaving
Cos I'm no damn good babe

You say you don't like my drinking
Or the way I carry on
You work your fingers to the bone
Never having any fun
You tell me that you're leaving
Cos I'm no damn good babe

chorus
Leavin', leavin', I wish you would
Cos you keep on telling me that I ain't no good
Leavin', leavin', I wish you would
Cos then you'll stop telling me that I ain't no good

You say your mammy and pappy warned you
That you're making a mistake
They said I might look good
But I'm just aanother fake
You told me that they told you
That I ain't no good babe

You say you're gonna board a train
And make good your escape
You'll be gone by the morning yeah
Before I'm awake
You tell me that you're leaving
Cos I'm no damn good babe

chorus
Leavin', leavin', I wish you would
Cos you keep on telling me that I ain't no good
Leavin', leavin', I wish you would
Cos then you'll stop telling me that I ain't no good

I've had enough of your nagging
And your moaning ways
I've had it up to here
With all you've got to say
Yeah, well go ahead and leave me
Believe me you're no damn good babe

I said, go ahead and leave me
Believe me you're no damn good babe

I said, go ahead and leave me
Believe me you're no damn good babe

I said, go ahead and leave me
Believe me you're no damn good babe


I'd like to say a huge thanks to @luzcypher and his amazing team of helpers, judges and very generous supporters. You cats really are so cool putting this great show on and giving us all a chance air our music, oh shit and let's not forget, we can earn some too! (Y)

Once again sorry for being so late, thanks for listening.

Sort:  

You really put some feeling into this one. Not surprising I guess given you are going through a break up but in this case I think it made for a really heartfelt performance. I hope your music helps you get through this mate. Much love - Carl

Oh thanks for those words @carlgnash, that means a lot to me.

Yes, playing music and singing songs is my meditation, and my ultimate way of channeling and purging some of the most difficult emotions. I really don't know where I'd be without it in my life.

bigtime love it! great performance

Ah, thank you so much @soundlegion. That's much appreciated.

I've been checking some of your stuff out on youtube .................. talk about prolific. I can't believe how much you've done, quality stuff too.

Cool song man!

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

You're not late by the way.

The cutoff date to enter is 12.00 PM UTC Time (Friday, 2nd February 2018). Find your UTC time here.

Thanks @luzcypher, I just remember you saying somewhere that later entries in the week don't, naturally get so many viewings. I suppose I was really saying thanks to those who still make the effort to have a look this late in the game. :)

Hey Martin,
awesome track :)

Are you based in Nottingham? I think we played at the same open mic a while back (2014 maybe?) at Pepper Rocks!

Great to hear your music again here on Steemit! :)

Aye that would be me @tomashofficial, I remember it too! Good to see another Nottz steemian.

You're not late until you're late! You are such a great guitar player. I'm a bit of a hacker that way (I'm primarily a lyricist and a vocalist), so I really appreciate the skill!

Pretty cool song. Sad, but cool! xx, Kay

Thanks very much @Kayclarity. I would say the same, I'm primarily a lyricist and avocalist too. I remember as a boy wanting to sing, that's why I picked up the guitar. If it wasn't for singing I think I'd have opted for double bass.

Aren't most songs sad though? Of course that's being said by a bluesman, lol, but country and western, 50's doowop, Etta James to Amy Winehouse etc. Yeah, thus one is a particularly sad song, especially at this moment in time for me.

Right on mate! When I was younger I used to 'become' what people called me. This hits the nail on the head.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63605.39
ETH 3470.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52