Steemit Open Mic Week 58 ~ "Kathy" (Original Song)

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

This Song Is Very New...

I could have rehearsed it a lot more, so please forgive me, I was excited to get it out and see what y'all thought, it's the first kinda country song I've written, though my voice ain't got any country twang hahaha! This song is a collaboration between a friend of mine in Australia, Kirk Randall, who shared some of his poetry with me and this is what happened...I hope I didn't butcher it too bad Kirkey :)

Lyrics

All I wanna do is make you love me,
But all you ever do is make me cry,
All I wanna have is you here with me,
But all you ever do is say goodbye...

Goodbye, goodbye, it's been a long goodbye.

I pray these thoughts will pass so I can get on with my life,
And put this shit back in the past...
Though I treasure my memories of things in the past,
They are illusions and they will not last...

But thought gets better as time goes by,
I will forget you Kathy, when the thought runs dry...
Goodbye, goodbye, it's been a long goodbye.

All I wanna do is make you love me,
But all you ever do is make me cry,
All I wanna have is you here Kathy,
But all you ever do is say goodbye...

Goodbye, goodbye, it's been a long goodbye.

Lyrics: Lyndsay Bowes & Kirk Randall
Music: Lyndsay Bowes

JOIN STEEMIT OPEN MIC WEEK 58 SPONSORED BY @LUZCYPHER & @PFUNK

Sort:  

I had a girlfriend named Kathy back when I was a teenager. This song does not apply to her. lol. She was totally crazy and actually pretty mean. And she wanted to completely control me, so I was actually pretty happy to say goodbye. Happened jut like that and I didn't look back. lol. I do love the song though. You are a really good singer. And you are also very pretty. And thats a winning combo!! I wrote and recorded some original songs back like 9 years ago. I keep thinking that I'd like to write some more, but I never seem to find the time. Maybe here soon I'll try to write a song for the Steemit open mic week. That would be pretty cool. Here's a link to my some of my old songs if you are interested in having a listen. https://www.artopium.com/space20/purchasepage.cgi?ID=M6065

I cannot wait to see you play the open mic! YAY!!!!!

Thank you @lyndsaybowes. I've been really enjoying playing again. https://steemit.com/openmic/@derekrichardson/acoustic-jam-session-1

From a post earlier on Youtube: "Interesting. Looking into whether or not to get into Steemit while I was looking for recent opinions on Steemit I saw your smiling face in a Youtube video thumbnail called: "Why Do I love Steemit So Much" and liked your take. I then looked at the music side of Steemit particularly original songs and songwriting. Also looking at Dtube but finding it slow I stumbled on a presentation of one of your song ideas and I thought.....yup that has potential!
I also stumbled on the Song Contest Idea on Steemit and what do you know the Steemit people in charge were already a few steps ahead of what I was thinking because now that song has been polished, produced and has been shown off in a nice video!
I joined Steemit several days later (Nov.3, 2017) and now here you are again with "Kathy!"
Keep going!
Write Write Write and never throw anything away!
I'm off to follow you on Steemit where I know just about Zero but Songwriting, Guitar, bass, Keys, Producer, etc. etc. is where I cut my teeth.
All the best Lyndsay"

All the best to you too @ronfuller :) It is exciting times for sure, your comment has really given me some good energy! Thanks a bunch I'm following you now, and hope to see you a lot more here!

How'd you do that? hahahah...
I have sooooo much to learn here....I was lookin for a "like" or "heart" button.
I also see you're a fellow (not a fella) Canadian!
I would like you and everyone I'm about to meet to ask themselves and their associates these questions: Could Steemit save the Music Business? Or could Steemit create a whole New Music Business paradigm?
Do we need to copyright register ($50.00ca. a pop!) songs anymore with Steemit being a blockchain, ROM, affair?
(Unless of course, your tunes go terrestrial radio, TV, etc. we then need the PRO'S (BMI, ASCAP, SESAC, SOCAN, etc.) and to register them.)
Being a songwriter in this day and age means after a million plays of your song on say Spotify you earn just enough for a nice T-shirt, your Youtube ch is being demonetized and they censor your content.
How does a sonwriter get anywhere and not starve?
Add the fact that no one is actually "BUYING" music anymore there needs to be some other incentive other then that "creative buzz" we all get to carry on and write quality materiel!
This "Buzz" that we feed,may have taken 400+ hours and a couple of G's in studio time and musician services to realize and we can't just go on and on for the hell of it! Forever, Only to feed our buzz? They're just home movies otherwise eh? (Note the Canadian language use there... er um ahhhh eh?...TWICE!)
I guess this should be a post....No? hahaah.... Eyezz lerninin!

Blockchain tech will definitely revolutionize the music industry. I hope you enter some songs in the open mic, it runs every week! Follow @luzcypher :) :)

I really like your songs, your writing is great, love the way you paint a story, your songs are personal and deep and you can feel the energy off them. really like your voice as well and how emotive you sound when you sing

Thank you so much for all the positive encouragement you've given me @soundlegion! :) I appreciate you!!

Babe, that was so cool!
You have to record that track too, I love the smokey voice in this one very remenicent of the great 60's/70's folk singers.
Great stuff Lyndsay ❤️

Aw, thanks so much for the feedback, I'm glad you think it has potential @tremendospercy! <3 <3

Damn your voice is awesome in this. Plus I gave you your 111th vote. A good sign, for what I have no clue.

Well it's one of my favourite numbers, that's for sure, so often I look at the time and it's 1:11!!! Thanks for the thumb's up LK!!!

You're welcomed

Great job @lyndsaybowes!

I'd say that you made the writer proud!

Best regards this week on Open Mic.

Peace.

Good to see you back at music! I enjoy all your posts and always good to hear your singing voice. :)

So good to see you too Michael! I've missed ya!!

You just made my day! Thank you my dear friend

Love your song and style. I love the chords in the "goodbye" part, when it rises up.

Another great original song from L.B.! Might be time to hit the studio again...nothing better than doing it fresh. Great job!

Thanks for listening and enjoying @brimax! :) <3 <3 <3

My 🎼🎶🎤 pleasure!

Listening to this on isarias show! Love this one. Her voice, raw emotions 👏👏👏💛

Thank you very much for telling me you liked it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 62868.78
ETH 3089.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48