Steemit Open Mic Week 44 "Rocket Launcher" (Bruce Cockburn cover)

in #openmic7 years ago

We changed a few lyrics to bring attention to the continued ethnic cleansing of Palestine, we don't think Bruce would mind.

Lyrics:

Here comes the helicopter -- second time today
Everybody scatters and hopes it goes away
How many kids they've murdered only God can say
If I had a rocket launcher...I'd make somebody pay

I don't believe in guarded borders and I don't believe in hate
I don't believe in generals or their stinking torture states
And when I talk with the survivors of things too sickening to relate
If I had a rocket launcher...I would retaliate

Within the siege of Gaza, 2 million people wait
To fall down from starvation -- or some less humane fate
Cry for Palestine, with a corpse in every gate
If I had a rocket launcher...I would not hesitate

I want to raise every voice -- at least I've got to try
Every time I think about it water rises to my eyes.
Situation desperate, echoes of the victims cry
If I had a rocket launcher...Some son of a bitch would die

Sort:  

this is a real great Music , this is how it has to be !!! \m/ thank you so much , I see humanity in here , Good luck with Palestinians , wish a good future for all the people who live in misery , I hate of dirty politicians , they do all of these things to whole world . and people fight with each other. and politicians laugh at us. :( . you did a great work my friend @lyndsaybowes

Thanks very much for being awake and aware to these problems! So many are so caught up in their own lives and dramas they never for a moment think about others, and the terrifying lives they are leading because of these dirty politicians and bankers pulling everyone's strings.

My God you two that brought tears to my eyes!
I'm speechless! You guys really have something special going on!

Thanks Michael

Thanks Michael, Big Love we have for you.

Well done guys. The world sits on its hands while genocide is being carried out. It's so sad.

Thanks SteemTruth, you truly get it, and are always a voice of truth and reason. Much Love I got for you and all you do for humanity.

Aww, thank you @lyndsaybowes. That means a lot.

You are good woman with a big heart. You are brave enough to enter territory that few people want to acknowledge. There is a big white elephant in the room and most people turn the other way and pretend that it isn't there.

I see the elephant, it is real and it must be stopped!

YES the biggest elephant ever, especially in the Age of Information, it is just obscene that so many choose to remain ignorant.

Thanks guys. Classic stuff.

Have you ever wondered how Bruce Cockburn got his name?

Please share the story @Luzcypher

:) :) :) :) Yeah, I'm ready to hear that one lololol

Beautiful song. Very hard hitting. you guys are really amazing. Thanks for sharing.
Peace and love !!!

Thanks for the nice comment my friend

Thank you @Atulmittal, that really means a lot coming from you.

Awesome guys... Loved it! War is USELESS to humanity but obviously it's rather important to the corrupt powers that be... Yeah, I think we'd all like to retaliate - maybe one day humanity will do just that and close these psychopaths down once and for all... Perhaps it should have ended on the lyrical note that "some (corrupt) politician" would die...

Yesss!! Thank you for being awake, aware and completely awesome! I hear ya about the final lyric, even "some central bankster" would work hey??

I couldn't agree more. War is the most useless disgusting thing in existence. Thank you for listening

Great job again this week guys

Thank you very much @lk666 :) :)

Thanks for always listening buddy

And Brendan @hendrix22
Love the guitar work!

Thanks again Michael. I really appreciate it.

God you guys I just watched that again and it's obvious you both are starting to click musically. It won't be long before you win the open mic!

Thanks for listening again, that's a real compliment!

Never heard this song before. Just popped over to YT to see Bruce perform his original version. Powerful lyrics, great cover.

Thanks @pennsif Bruce's lyrics are amazing and his guitar player is incredible as well. We love the Good Doctor

Yes, Bruce is the Man! He wrote a really powerful song here, and it's one of our favourites of his. He is fearless in his defence of the weak with his music and his actions. I wish there were more artists like him to say the least...

Thanks for introducing me to Bruce. I don't think he is so well known over here in the UK. But been listening to his songs on YouTube for the past hour. He has a fantastic range of songs in his catalogue.

Ooh wow, I'm so happy to have introduced you to such a musician. Have you been listening to his radio stuff, or acoustic?

I like your rendition of the song. I particularly like the guitar tone and feel.

Thank you very much for listening Geoff!